David Pearson 1980 Darlington

This Day in NASCAR History: April 13

April 13, 2019 – Martin Truex Jr. scored his first career short-track win in the Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond Raceway. Truex came into the night having combined to lead 675 laps at Richmond with no victory to show for it. He captured the win by leading 186 laps and holding off charges by Joey Logano and Clint Bowyer.

April 13, 2013 – Kyle Busch captured his first career Texas Motor Speedway NASCAR Cup Series victory in the NRA 500. Martin Truex Jr. had the lead until a caution flag sent the leaders to pit road with 21 laps to go. Busch was able to come back on track with the lead and then outran Truex Jr. to the checkered flag. Busch led a race-high 171 laps.

April 13, 2012 – Ricky Stenhouse Jr. made the winning pass after the race’s final restart and went on to win the NASCAR Xfinity (Nationwide) Series O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 at Texas Motor Speedway. Stenhouse held off Paul Menard to score the victory and give Roush Fenway Racing its fourth straight win at TMS. The race was slowed by five cautions for 33 laps, one caused when a bank of lights went out inside Turn 3. The problem arose again later in the race causing a five-minute red flag while track officials made repairs.

April 13, 2003 – Jeff Gordon won the Virginia 500 from the pole at Martinsville Speedway after a late-race battle with Bobby Labonte. Gordon passed Labonte on Lap 487 and then went on to collect his 62nd (of 93) career victory. The race ended under caution after the No. 17 Ford of Matt Kenseth connected with teammate Kurt Busch with three laps left, bringing out the last off 11 yellows of the day. Dale Earnhardt Jr. had what appeared to be the dominant car late in the race (led three times for 195 laps), but when a lapped car knocked Earnhardt toward the wall on a Lap 443 restart, he dropped from second to fifth place.

April 13, 2002 – Scott Riggs scored his first career NASCAR Xfinity (Busch) Series win with a strong performance in the No. 10 Ford. The rookie took the checkered flag 2.9 seconds ahead of Jack Sprague. Riggs bounced back from a slow pit stop early in the race to lead the final 47 laps.

April 13, 2002 – Dennis Setzer got by Terry Cook with 43 laps to go and held on to earn his only NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors (Craftsman) Truck Series win of the season in the Advance Auto Parts 250 at Martinsville Speedway. Setzer started in the 33rd position after his qualifying run was disqualified for an illegal part. Pole winner Ted Musgrave led the first 71 laps and appeared to be the truck to beat, but he and Tom Powers got tangled up in Turn 1. Musgrave spun out and hit the wall, doing damage to the left rear of his Dodge. He lost several positions in the exchange and was forced to pit during the caution. Musgrave later had a brake issue and finished 24th.

April 13, 1997 – Jeff Gordon used a bump and run on Rusty Wallace to win the Food City 500 at Bristol Motor Speedway. Gordon, who led 125 laps, got to Wallace in Turn 3 and went on to take the checkered flag by 0.499 seconds. It marked Gordon’s third of five career wins at the half-mile oval. Wallace finished second after leading a race-high 240 laps from the pole.

April 13, 1991 – Bobby Labonte captured his first of 10 career NASCAR Xfinity (Busch Grand National) Series wins in the Budweiser 250 at Bristol Motor Speedway. Labonte got by Dale Earnhardt with 19 laps to go and went on to take the checkered flag ahead of David Green and Earnhardt.

April 13, 1986 – Dale Earnhardt dominated the TranSouth 500 for his second of nine career wins at Darlington Raceway. Earnhardt led 335 of the 367 laps took the checkered flag ahead of Darrell Waltrip. The day prior, Waltrip won the Busch Grand National race at Darlington and Earnhardt finished second.

April 13, 1985 – Harry Gant took the checkered flag in the Dixie Cup 200 at Darlington Raceway as a relief driver for Jack Ingram. Gant passed Brad Teague with three laps to go to help credit Ingram with his first of five wins during his NASCAR Xfinity (Busch Grand National) Series season.

April 13, 1980 – David Pearson scored his 105th and final NASCAR Cup Series win in the CRC Chemicals Rebel 500 at Darlington Raceway. The race was shortened to 189 laps due to a rain delay and impending darkness. Pearson led 99 laps, including the final 32.

Other Winners on this Date: 1975 – Bobby Allison (Darlington); 1969 – David Pearson (Richmond); 1968 – Richard Petty (Greenville Pickens); 1963 – Buck Baker (Greenville Pickens); 1962 – Ned Jarrett (Columbia); 1958 – Curtis Turner (Lakewood)

More in April by Date: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12