Getty Images
Getty Images

This Day in NASCAR History: April 12

April 12, 2019 – Cole Custer won the NASCAR Xfinity Series ToyotaCare 250 at Richmond Raceway to take home the $100,000 Dash 4 Cash bonus. Custer moved around Austin Cindric with 20 laps to go and went on to score the victory. The race was run under threatening weather all night long but the entire distance was completed without interruption. Custer led 122 of 250 laps to score his second win of the season and fourth of his career.

April 12, 2014 – Kevin Harvick became the first repeat winner of the season when he won the Bojangles’ Southern 500 at Darlington Raceway. Harvick passed Dale Earnhardt Jr. in the race’s second green-white-checkered restart to pick-up the victory after starting from the pole.

April 12, 2013 – Kyle Busch scored his fourth win of the season when he picked up the checkered flag in the NASCAR Xfinity (Nationwide) Series O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 at Texas Motor Speedway. Busch beat Brad Keselowski by two seconds for his 55th career win.

April 12, 2008 – Jimmie Johnson and crew chief Chad Knaus played a fuel strategy game that paid off with a win in the Subway Fresh Fit 500 at Phoenix Raceway. While the rest of the leaders were pitting for fuel during the closing laps of the race, Johnson was able to stretch his fuel load and coast across the finish line for his second straight win at Phoenix. Mark Martin was ahead of the field before the final frenzy of pit stops for fuel erupted, which saw nearly everyone in the top 10 aside from Johnson hit pit road.

April 12, 2003 – David Green slipped past Johnny Sauter on the final lap to win the NASCAR Xfinity (Busch Grand National) Series Pepsi 300 at Nashville Superspeedway for his sixth career series victory. Green’s Timberwolf Pontiac was fourth with six laps to go but was able to work around Mike Bliss and Ashton Lewis to set up the winning move. He went low through the third turn and was able to squeeze by Sauter and hang on for the checkered flag.

April 12, 2003 – Dennis Setzer picked up his second straight NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors (Craftsman) Truck Series win of the season in the Advance Auto Parts 250 at Martinsville Speedway. Setzer drove his Acxiom Chevrolet to the Martinsville win to follow-up his win at Mesa Marin Speedway in March. It was his ninth career Truck Series victory.

April 12, 1997 – Jeff Burton won the Moore’s Snacks 250 at Bristol Motor Speedway. Burton, who led 139 laps, was out ahead of the field when a caution was brought out by an oil fire in Hermie Sadler’s Chevrolet with four to go. The win was Burton’s fifth of 27 career NASCAR Xfinity (Busch Grand National) wins.

April 12, 1992 – Racing with a rib injury, Davey Allison led the final 88 laps and held off Rusty Wallace to win the First Union 400 at North Wilkesboro Speedway. Allison took the lead when he was the first off pit road on the second to last caution, which was brought out by a Kyle Petty. Allison was hurt in the previous race at Bristol Motor Speedway and Jimmy Hensley practiced and qualified the No. 28 Ford and was on standby for the race.

April 12, 1987 – Dale Earnhardt won the Valleydale Meats 500 at Bristol Motor Speedway after leading 180 laps, including the final 115. Earnhardt was involved in one of the cautions of the race with leader Sterling Marlin on Lap 252. Richard Petty finished second, which marked his final second-place finish of his career. The race also had a 88-minute delay just past the halfway mark with Kyle Petty as the leader.

Other winners on this date: 1986 – Darrell Waltrip (Darlington, Busch Grand National); 1981 – Darrell Waltrip (Darlington); 1970 – Pete Hamilton (Talladega Superspeedway); 1964 – David Pearson (Orange Speedway); 1958 – Speedy Thompson (Piedmont Interstate Fairgrounds); 1956 – Fonty Flock (Peach Bowl); 1952 – Buck Baker (Columbia Speedway)