Getty Images
Getty Images

This Day in NASCAR History: April 11

April 11, 2015 – Jimmie Johnson scored his fifth of seven wins at Texas Motor Speedway, and second consecutive, when he took the checkered flag in the Duck Commander 500. Johnson led a race-high 128 laps, including the final 14 en route to his 72nd career win. Kevin Harvick, who led 96 laps, was able to win the battle for second over Dale Earnhardt Jr.

April 11, 2014 – Chase Elliott won the VFW Sport Clips Help a Hero 200 at Darlington Raceway for his second career, and second consecutive, Xfinity Series win. Elliott scored the win by passing Elliott Sadler on the last lap. Sadler got loose in Turn 2. He was in front because of a two-tire pit stop before the final restart, while Elliott had four fresh tires.

April 11, 2009 – Joey Logano held off his Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Kyle Busch to win the NASCAR Xfinity (Nationwide) Series Nashville 300 at Nashville Superspeedway. Logano was able to stay in front of the previous week’s Texas Xfinity race winner in a five lap shootout to the checkered flag to score his second career series win. Logano put his No. 20 Toyota out front for 95 laps en route to the third career 1-2 finish for JGR.

April 11, 2008 – Kyle Busch picked up his second consecutive NASCAR Xfinity (Nationwide) Series win of the season, and second-straight at Phoenix Raceway, in the Bashas’ Supermarkets 200. Busch’s pit crew got him in front on the final stop of the night and he was able to hold off Carl Edwards on a green-white-checkered finish to earn the 13th career win.

April 11, 1999 – Rusty Wallace held off Mark Martin to win the Food City 500 at Bristol Motor Speedway. Wallace led 425 of the 500 laps for his seventh of nine victories at the half-mile oval.

April 11, 1998 – Ed Berrier captured his only NASCAR Xfinity (Busch Grand National) Series win in the Galaxy Food Centers 300 at Hickory Motor Speedway. Berrier led 187 of the 300 laps, including the final 117, to record the win in his 208th start.

April 11, 1987 – Morgan Shepherd won the NASCAR Xfinity (Busch Grand National) Series Budweiser 200 at Bristol Motor Speedway. It was his second straight win in the spring race and fourth overall at Bristol. Shepherd led 97 laps and held off Jack Ingram for the victory.

Other winners on this date: 1976 – David Pearson (Darlington); 1966 – David Pearson (Bowman Gray Stadium); 1965 – Marvin Panch (Atlanta); 1964 – Marvin Panch (Asheville-Weaverville)