Davey Allison

This Day in NASCAR History: April 8

April 8, 2018 – Kyle Busch held off Kevin Harvick to win the NASCAR Cup Series O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 at Texas Motor Speedway. The win marked Busch’s first of the season, and 44th of his career, and it followed-up four consecutive top-three finishes dating back to Las Vegas Motor Speedway the previous month. Busch went on to win the next two races of the season at Bristol and Richmond.

April 8, 2017 – Erik Jones won the NASCAR Xfinity Series My Bariatric Solutions 300 at Texas Motor Speedway. Jones scored his seventh career series win and second of three at Texas. He dominated the day leading three times for 112 laps, including the final 45.

April 8, 2016 – Kyle Busch dominated the O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 at Texas Motor Speedway for his fourth win in five Xfinity Series starts to begin the season.

April 8, 2011 – Carl Edwards gave Ford its first NASCAR Xfinity (Nationwide) Series victory for the Mustang when he took the checkered flag in the O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 at Texas Motor Speedway. Edwards started from the pole and held off Brad Keselowski in the closing laps to notch his first win of the season. The Roush Fenway Racing driver led 169 of the 200 laps on his way to his 30th career series win.

April 8, 2006 – Kurt Busch held off Greg Biffle on a green-white-checkered finish to win the O’Reilly 300 at Texas Motor Speedway in his first career NASCAR Xfinity (Busch) Series start. He wheeled the No. 39 Team Penske Dodge to Victory Lane after leading 70 laps.

April 8, 2002 – After starting at the back due to an engine change, Matt Kenseth put on a strong performance in the final 100 laps and then held off Jeff Gordon and Mark Martin to win the rain-delayed Samsung/Radio Shack 500 at Texas Motor Speedway. It marked Kenseth’s second victory of the season in seven races. Torrential rains throughout the day on Sunday postponed the race until Monday afternoon.

April 8, 2001 – Dale Jarrett took the lead from teammate Ricky Rudd with seven laps remaining to win the Virginia 500 at Martinsville Speedway. The victory was Jarrett’s first at Martinsville, third of the season and second straight after a victory at Texas. It was also Ford’s fourth consecutive victory after Chevrolets won the first four races of the year. Rudd took the lead with 55 laps remaining and looked for a while as if he would make it to Victory Lane for the first time since September of 1998, when he won at Martinsville.

April 8, 2000 – Randy LaJoie scored his only win of the NASCAR Xfinity (Busch Grand National) season in the BellSouth Mobility 320. LaJoie took the lead following a large multi-car crash in Turn 4 and led the final 76 laps to win the last series race at Nashville Speeedway. Jeff Green led 119 laps, but finished 12th after being involved in the big accident.

April 8, 1990 – After opting not to pit on the final caution, Davey Allison led the final 109 laps and held off Mark Martin in a photo finish to win the Valleydale Meats 500 at Bristol Motor Speedway. With Sterling Marlin spinning in Turn 2 after contact from Ricky Rudd behind, Allison and Martin battled side-by-side coming to the checkered flag. Darrell Waltrip, who led 167 laps, finished ninth after cutting a tire with 25 laps to go while running second.

April 8, 1984 – During the spring race at North Wilkesboro Speedway it seemed like a day for Ricky Rudd to take home the win after leading 290 laps. However, Tim Richmond took the lead of the Northwestern Bank 400 on Lap 373 and led the final 28 laps of the race. It was his lone win of 1984.

April 8, 1979 – The eighth race of the 1979 took place at Darlington Raceway and it was a world class show for race fans to watch. While there were 25 lead changes throughout the day, the battle between Darrell Waltrip and Richard Petty was one for the ages. For the last 10 laps the drivers battled side-by-side until the final lap. Waltrip dove under Petty in the final corner to win the CRC Chemicals Rebel 500.

April 8, 1973 – It was a Sunday afternoon of pure domination at North Wilkesboro Speedway as Richard Petty won the Gwyn Staley 400 by leading 387 of 400 laps and crossed the line four laps ahead of the field.

April 8, 1971 – Richard Petty won the Columbia 200 at Columbia Speedway after passing Benny Parsons in the closing laps of the race. Petty finished the season with 21 wins, 41 top 10s and 38 top fives, which helped him claim the 1971 NASCAR Cup Series championship