Skip to content
Getty Images

Advance Auto Parts Clash Format

A lineup of drivers, featuring 2017 pole winners, former Daytona 500 pole winners and 2017 playoff drivers, will battle in the Advance Auto Parts 75-lap event on Sunday, February 11. The annual pre-season race will be run in two segments, with a competition caution at lap 25 separating the segments.

The Advance Auto Parts Clash At Daytona Tidbits

  • The number of participants has ranged from a low of seven in 1981 to a high of 28 in 2009.
  • Like last season, the starting field for the 2018 Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona will not be a predetermined number of cars; rather, the field is limited to drivers who meet more exclusive criteria. (20 drivers are eligible for this year’s event).
  • Jeff Gordon has appeared in the most consecutive Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona races, competing in 22 consecutive events from 1994-2015.
  • Jimmie Johnson leads all active drivers in consecutive Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona starts with 15 (2003 – 2017).
  • The top five drivers (all-time) with the most Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona appearances: Mark Martin (24), Bill Elliott (23), Jeff Gordon (22), Ken Schrader (19) and Rusty Wallace (19).
  • The top five active drivers with the most Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona appearances: Jimmie Johnson (15), Kurt Busch (14), Kevin Harvick (13), Ryan Newman (13) and Denny Hamlin (12).
  • There have been nine multiple winners in the Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona: – Dale Earnhardt won six events, most all-time (1980, 1986, 1988, 1991, 1993, 1995) — Dale Jarrett won in 1996, 2000 and 2004. – Kevin Harvick won in 2009, 2010 and 2013. – Tony Stewart won in 2001, 2002 and 2007. – Denny Hamlin won in 2006, 2014 and 2016. – Other multiple winners: Neil Bonnett (1983-1984), Ken Schrader, (1989-1990), Jeff Gordon (1994 and 1997), and Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2003 and 2008).
  • Bonnett, Schrader, Stewart and Harvick are the only drivers to win back-to-back Clash at Daytona races.
  • No driver has won three consecutive Clash events.
  • Buddy Baker (1979), Dale Earnhardt (1980), Jeff Gordon (1994), Dale Jarrett (1996) and Denny Hamlin (2006) all won the first Clash at Daytona in which they competed.
  • Only six times in the 38-year history of the race has the winner gone on to win the Daytona 500: Bobby Allison (1982) Bill Elliott (1987) Dale Jarrett (1996 and 2000) Jeff Gordon (1997) Denny Hamlin (2016)
  • There have been four winners from the pole: Darrell Waltrip (1981), Bill Elliott (1987), Ken Schrader (1989) and Denny Hamlin (2014).
  • Two drivers have swept the Clash at Daytona, Daytona 500 pole and Daytona 500 from 1979-2017: Dale Jarrett (2000) and Bill Elliott (1987)
  • One driver has swept the Clash at Daytona, Daytona 500 and the Coke Zero 400 from 1979-2017: Bobby Allison (1982).
  • Seven drivers have won the Clash at Daytona (1979-2017) and the championship in the same season. Dale Earnhardt is the only one to have accomplished it multiple times (four). Tony Stewart (2002) Jeff Gordon (1997) Dale Earnhardt (1993, 1991, 1986 and 1980) Darrell Waltrip (1981)
  • Four drivers have won consecutive Clash at Daytona races (1979-2017). None went on to win that year’s Daytona 500. Kevin Harvick (2009-10) Tony Stewart (2000-01) Ken Schrader (1990-91) Neil Bonnett (1983-84)
  • The format for The Clash at Daytona has changed 14 times since its inception into the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series in 1979.
  • Danica Patrick is the only female driver who has competed in the Clash at Daytona (1979 – 2017). Her best finish in the Clash is fourth last season.