Getty Images
Getty Images

This Day in NASCAR History: May 2

May 2, 2015 – Joey Logano became the first repeat Xfinity Series winner at Talladega Superspeedway in the last 10 races when he claimed the win in the Winn-Dixie 300. The streak of nine different winners in nine races came to an end when Logano furiously held off a pack of cars to take the checkered flag over Brian Scott. It marked Logano’s third win of the season and his second at Talladega (2012). Logano, who also won the season-opening Daytona 500 in the Cup Series, credited spotter Tab Boyd for guiding him to victory.

May 2, 2010 – Johnny Sauter held on to his truck after getting sideways with Ron Hornaday Jr. in the closing laps and went on to win the NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series O’Reilly Auto Parts 250 at Kansas Speedway. After a 90 minute red flag for a thunderstorm that included small hail, the field went back to green on Lap 120 and Hornaday closed in on Sauter, who passed Johnny Benson for the lead with 44 laps-to-go. But on Lap 157, Hornaday made contact with Sauter as they approached lap traffic in Turn 3. The contact sent both trucks in a synchronized sideways spin, and amazingly enough both drivers were able to recover and continue on for the 1-2 finish. The win for Sauter was the second of his career and it came one day after his 32nd birthday. He also became the 10th different winner in as many races at Kansas.

May 2, 2009 – Kyle Busch celebrated his 24th birthday with a win in the NASCAR Cup Series Crown Royal Presents the Russ Friedman 400 at Richmond Raceway to give him a sweep of the weekend. Busch scored his third Cup Series victory of the season and became the third driver in Richmond history to sweep a Cup-Xfinity Series weekend. Busch passed Jeff Gordon on Lap 352 of 400 and held on to the checkered flag.

May 2, 2008 – Denny Hamlin captured his first win at his home track, Richmond Raceway, in the NASCAR Xfinity Series Lipton Tea 250. Hamlin worked his way around Kevin Harvick for the lead, thanks in part to the four fresh tires he took on the final pit stop of the night, with 12 laps to go. His win came just hours after he won the pole for the Cup race.

May 2, 2004 – Jeff Gordon scored his second-straight victory of the season, and third at Auto Club (California) Speedway in the Auto Club 500. Gordon was able to outdistance his rivals in a fuel mileage strategy to score his 66th career Cup Series win. Gordon’s Hendrick teammate Jimmie Johnson was second, coming from the 19th starting position after crashing his primary car in Friday’s opening practice session.

May 2, 2003 – Kevin Harvick held off Scott Riggs to win the Hardee’s 250 at Richmond Raceway. Harvick scored his second series victory of the season under the 14th and final caution of the night after a four car accident.

May 2, 1999 – Jeff Gordon led 151 of the 250 laps to win the California 500 at Auto Club (California) Speedway. Gordon led the final 42 laps and took the win by 4.5 seconds over Jeff Burton to become the first multiple race winner at ACS.

May 2, 1993 – Ernie Irvan passed Dale Earnhardt on the final lap to win the Winston 500 at Talladega Superspeedway. As the field was coming to the checkered flag Earnhardt made contact with Rusty Wallace that sent Wallace’s car airborne and flipping multiple times crossing the finish line in sixth. It marked Irvan’s second consecutive win at Talladega. The two-lap dash to the checkered flag came after a rain delay.

May 2, 1992 – Bobby Dotter was awarded the win the Grainger Select 200 at New River Valley Speedway. Jeff Burton took the checkered flag under caution but was penalized and moved to to last place after a part was found that did not meet NASCAR’s specifications during post-race inspection. It was the only career win for Dotter, who led 58 laps in the race.

May 2, 1987 – Mike Alexander captured his first NASCAR Xfinity (Busch) Series win in the Hampton 200 at Langley Field Speedway. Alexander led the final 97 laps and took the win over Tommy Houston.

Other winners on this date: 1982 – Darrell Waltrip (Talladega); 1976 – Buddy Baker (Talladega); 1971 – Rebel 400 (Darlington); 1965 – Junior Johnson (Bristol); 1963 – Richard Petty (Columbia Speedway); 1959 – Junior Johnson (Hickory); 1954 – Herb Thomas (Langhorne Speedway)

More from May by Date: 1

More from April by Date: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 30