Jeff Gordon 1996
Jeff Gordon won the TransSouth 400 at Darlington Raceway on March 24, 1996. Tire changer Chad Knaus is shown left of the checkered flag.

This Day in NASCAR History: March 24

March 24, 2019 – Brad Keselowski led 446 laps and won at Martinsville Speedway in the NASCAR Cup Series, holding off Chase Elliott by 0.549 second. It was Keselowski’s 29th win of his career and second of three wins that year (Atlanta, Martinsville-1 and Kansas-1). His 446 laps led were also the most he had ever led in a victory in his career. Race Recap

March 24, 2013 – Kyle Busch won the Auto Club 400 at Auto Club Speedway. Busch led 125 laps en route to his first of four wins that season. In that race, Denny Hamlin suffered a L1 compression fracture following an accident with Joey Logano on the final lap. Hamlin missed four races that season.

March 24, 2012 – Joey Logano won the Xfinity Series Royal Purple 300 at Auto Club Speedway driving the No. 18 Toyota for Joe Gibbs Racing. The win was his first of nine wins that year in 22 starts. Logano currently has 30 career wins.

March 24, 2007- Carl Edwards captured his 10th of 38 career Xfinity Series wins in the Sharpie Mini 300 at Bristol Motor Speedway. Edwards led 147 laps and took the checkered flag over his teammate Matt Kenseth.

March 24, 2002 – Kurt Busch won his first of six races at Bristol Motor Speedway after leading 89 laps. Busch muscled his way by Jimmy Spencer with the front bumper and led the final 56 laps to score first career up win.

March 24, 1996 – Jeff Gordon won the TransSouth 400 at Darlington Raceway after leading 189 laps. It was his second Darlington win in a streak of three consecutive at the 1.366-mile track. Overall, Gordon won seven times at "The Track too Tough to Tame."

March 24, 1991 – Kenny Wallace scored his first career Xfinity Series win in the 200-lap race at Volusia County Speedway. Wallace led 127 laps and won the race over Tommy Houston for his first of two wins that season.

March 24, 1974 – NASCAR Hall of Famers Cale Yarborough and David Pearson battled it out at Atlanta Motor Speedway. Pearson dominated most of the day leading 172 laps, but Yarborough stole the lead and didn’t relinquish it during the final 84 laps taking the win. It was Yarborough’s third victory of his 10 win 1974 season.

March 24, 1970 – Buddy Baker became the first driver to post a test-run speed faster than 200 mph in a stock car, doing so at Talladega Superspeedway.