Getty Images
Getty Images

Johnson Named USAC.25 Grand Marshal

Seven-time NASCAR champion and two-time Daytona 500 winner, Jimmie Johnson, has been named the Honorary Grand Marshal for the USAC.25 Series’ national race at Daytona International Speedway Feb 6-9, 2020.

The driver of the No. 48 Ally Chevrolet for Hendrick Motorsports is the only driver to win five consecutive NASCAR championships (2006-2010). Since his rookie year in 2002, Johnson has earned 83 wins (tied with Cale Yarborough) and holds the most wins at Dover International Speedway (11), Charlotte Motor Speedway (8) and Texas Motor Speedway (7). He returns to Daytona Speedweeks as the most recent winner of the Busch Clash.

The 2020 NASCAR Monster Energy Cup season marks Johnson’s 19th and final season as a full-time NASCAR driver.

“I’m looking forward to this event,” said Johnson, who hails from El Cajon, Calif. “I can only imagine how exciting it is for these kids to be competing at Daytona and being able to see the drivers they look up to at the same time. There could be another future NASCAR driver among the kids who are racing in USAC now, so I’m proud to be the Honorary Grand Marshal and looking forward to checking it out – kids rule.”

UsacJohnson complements the long and impressive list of former USAC.25 Honorary Grand Marshals. Iconic and legendary drivers like Jeff Gordon, Mario Andretti, Josef Newgarden, Arie Luyendyk, James Hinchcliffe, Chase Elliott, Joey Logano, Alexander Rossi and Kyle Busch have all taken the time to speak to these young passionate drivers.

The 2020 event marks the third consecutive time the USAC.25 series has kicked off its season at the world-renowned motor sports facility. A 1/20th mile-long tri-oval racetrack will be temporarily constructed on a paved section inside DIS. Young drivers and their families from all over the country will travel to DIS to compete in this event.

With at least 48 USAC.25 clubs located all across the country, thousands of kids ages five and up, along with their families, participate in USAC-sanctioned quarter midget series events. Some notable NASCAR graduates of quarter midget racing include Jeff Gordon, Joey Logano, Ryan Newman, Alex Bowman, Justin Allgaier, Harrison Burton and Todd Gilliland.

Tickets for all DAYTONA Speedweeks Presented By AdventHealth events can be purchased online at or by calling 1-800-PISHOP. Fans can stay connected with Daytona International Speedway on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, YouTube and Snapchat, and by downloading Daytona International Speedway’s mobile app.