Newman Defends Bristol Modified Win

Ryan Newman

Newman led seven times for 107 laps en route to his fourth career win. (Photo: Getty Images)

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Ryan Newman drove away with the UNOH Perfect Storm 150 at Bristol Motor Speedway on Wednesday.

Newman successfully defending his 2010 Bristol win and registered his fourth career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour victory overall.

Wednesday’s triumph came in Newman’s first start on the tour after he was disqualified from a win at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in July.

Justin Bonsignore finished second in the annual combination race between the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour, while Todd Szegedy came back from a lap down for third. James Civali and Patrick Emerling rounded out the top five.

Eric Beers was sixth, followed by Ron Silk, Frank Fleming, Andy Seuss and Eric Goodale.

Fleming was the top finishing NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour driver and will be credited with a win on the tour. It is his first career victory.

Silk stretched his NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour points lead to 41 over Rowan Pennink, who finished 21st overall. Szegedy is third, 16 points behind Pennink. George Brunnhoelzl III, the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour points leader, finished 29th overall and his lead is 110 over John Smith and 123 over LW Miller.

The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour will return to the track in just two days at Caraway Speedway on Friday, Aug. 26. The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour gets back on track with the inaugural event at Delaware (Ont.) Speedway on Sept. 4.

(Start position in parentheses)
1. (4) Ryan Newman, South Bend, Ind., Chevrolet, 150 laps, 58.369 mph.
2. (19) Justin Bonsignore, Holtsville, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150.
3. (7) Todd Szegedy, Ridgefield, Conn., Ford, 150.
4. (3) James Civali, Meriden, Conn., Pontiac, 150.
5. (27) Patrick Emerling, Orchard Park, N.Y., Ford, 150.
6. (11) Eric Beers, Northampton, Pa., Chevrolet, 150.
7. (5) Ron Silk, Norwalk, Conn., Chevrolet, 150.
8. (21) Frank Fleming, Mt. Airy, N.C., Chevrolet, 150.
9. (22) Andy Seuss, Hampstead, N.H., Chevrolet, 149.
10. (10) Eric Goodale, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 149.
11. (24) Eric Berndt, Cromwell, Conn., Chevrolet, 149.
12. (16) Woody Pitkat, Stafford, Conn., Chevrolet, 149.
13. (8) Matt Hirschman, Northampton, Pa., Chevrolet, 149.
14. (28) Jason Myers, Walnut Cove, N.C., 148.
15. (34) Austin Pack, Winston-Salem, N.C., Chevrolet, 148.
16. (20) John Smith, Mount Airy, N.C., Chevrolet, 147.
17. (32) Burt Myers, Walnut Cove, N.C., Ford, 144.
18. (31) Ed Flemke, Jr., Southington, Conn., Chevrolet, 136, vibration.
19. (25) L.W. Miller, Dushore, Pa., Chevrolet, 131.
20. (26) Jamie Tomaino, Jr., Lexington, N.C., Chevrolet, 131.
21. (13) Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, Pa., Chevrolet, 131.
22. (33) Wade Cole, Riverton, Conn., Chevrolet, 127.
23. (14) Tim Brown, Cana, Va., Chevrolet, 105.
24. (6) Mike Stefanik, Coventry, R.I., Pontiac, 104, accident.
25. (9) Doug Coby, Milford, Conn., Chevrolet, 95, engine.
26. (1) Bobby Santos, Franklin, Mass., Dodge, 76, engine.
27. (30) Gary McDonald, Ronkonkoma, N.Y., Pontiac, 53, drive shaft.
28. (17) Corey LaJoie, Concord, N.C., Chevrolet, 42, accident.
29. (15) George Brunnhoelzl, III, W. Babylon, N.Y., Chevrolet, 42, accident.
30. (23) Bryon Chew, Mattituck, N.Y., Chevrolet, 42, accident.
31. (2) Erick Rudolph, Ransomville, N.Y., Chevrolet, 14, engine.
32. (29) Daniel Hemric, Kannapolis, N.C., Pontiac, 9, rear end.
33. (12) Andy Petree, Hickory, N.C., Chevrolet, 8, accident.
34. (18) Ron Yuhas, Jr., Groton, Conn., Chevrolet, 8, accident.


  • © 2014 MRN. All Rights Reserved

    FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

    ISC Track Sites