Earnhardt Jr. Wins Talladega Pole

Dale Earnhardt Jr.

The pole is Earnhardt Jr.'s first at Talladega and the 15th of his career. (Photo: Getty Images)


Starting Lineup | Qualifying Results

Dale Earnhardt Jr. won the pole for Sunday's Alabama 500 in what will be his final start at Talladega Superspeedway, a track he has six wins at

Earnhardt Jr. won his second pole of the season and first career at Talladega. He toured the 2.66-mile track with a lap of 190.544 mph to capture the top spot.
“Really, all the credit for getting a pole at a place like this goes to the team and goes to the car and the guys that work on it, the engine, the body men; we’ve got an amazing staff back at Charlotte that builds some awesome stuff,” Earnhardt Jr. said.
“I just hold the wheel straight and try not to bounce into the apron, but get as close to it as you can and make sure you run a clean lap. But there ain’t much to it as a driver. This place has meant a lot to me. It’s awesome to hear those fans happy for us and hopefully we’re going to give them a lot more to cheer about before this weekend is over.”
Earnhardt Jr.’s Hendrick Motorsports teammate Chase Elliott will start outside the front row.
Joey Logano, Kurt Busch and spring Talladega race winner Ricky Stenhouse Jr. rounded out the top five.
“We’ve always raced well, but we haven’t really qualified well here in a long time, so it’s cool to see the speed in our car,” said Logano, who is shooting for his third straight fall Talladega race win.
“That’s a good sign.  That’s something we’ve never really had in qualifying, so that makes me feel good about the race and maybe we can make some bold moves and do some things with some speed in the car and keep ourselves up there and win this thing.”
Brad Keselowski, Clint Bowyer, Jimmie Johnson, Ryan Blaney and Trevor Bayne completed the first ten qualifiers.
"I thought we had decent speed,” Blaney said.  “We're wide open. Drivers don't do much here. (Crew chief) Jeremy (Bullins) and everybody on the team sets its up. I thought we had a good car. We'll see what we do Sunday."  
Other playoff drivers in Sunday’s starting lineup include Kyle Larson (12th), Denny Hamlin (15th), Kyle Busch (16th), Jamie McMurray (17th), Matt Kenseth (19th), Martin Truex Jr. (21st) and Kevin Harvick (22nd).


Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Nov. 28, 2017 7:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites