Jones to Honor Past Rookies at Darlington

Erik Jones

DENVER, Colo. - The special paint scheme Erik Jones will carry in next month's Bojangles' Southern 500 will feature a collage of notable rookie drivers from 1984-89.

Jones, leading the 2017 Rookie of the Year standings, will steer the No. 77 Furniture Row Racing Toyota into the next-to-last event of the regular season at Darlington Raceway on Sunday, Sept. 3.

Additionally, the special design will include a photo of the "5-hour ENERGY Racing Throwback Sweepstakes" winner, which gave fans the opportunity to submit their personal photos from 1985-89. Rick Redpath of Greene, N.Y., will share the hood with some of racing’s royalty.

The hood and side panels of Jones' Camry will be covered with photos of legendary drivers including NASCAR Rookie of the Year winners Rusty Wallace (1984), Ken Schrader (1985), Alan Kulwicki (1986), Davey Allison (1987), Ken Bouchard (1988) and Dick Trickle (1989). Many of the images pair the drivers' rookie photos with snapshots from their crowning achievements.

The names of each rookie class are showcased on the rear quarter panels and many of those drivers are also honored with photographs in the paint scheme including Hall of Famer and Cup Series champion Dale Jarrett, two-time Daytona 500 winner Michael Waltrip, Ernie Irvan, Greg Sacks, Eddie Bierschwale and Hut Stricklin.

Motor Racing Network - "The Voice of NASCAR" will have live coverage of the Bojangles' Southern 500 from Darlington Raceway on Sunday, Sept. 3, beginning at 5 p.m. (ET) - with live streaming at and on the MRN App.

Next MRN Broadcast

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2018 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites