1994 Slick 50 300: Magical Day for Rudd

Ricky Rudd

The New England oval in Loudon, N.H., is nicknamed "The Magic Mile" and in July 1994, Ricky Rudd made some magic of his own to win the Slick 50 300. (Photo: Getty Images)


The New England oval in Loudon, N.H., is nicknamed "The Magic Mile" and on July 10, 1994, owner-driver Ricky Rudd made some magic of his own in winning the Slick 50 300.

As the second half of that year’s Cup Series schedule opened, Rudd snatched the lead from Dale Earnhardt and kept his No. 10 Tide Ford in front over the final seven laps to claim victory.  Rudd’s winning margin over "The Intimidator" was .69 seconds with Rusty Wallace, Mark Martin and Todd Bodine completing the top five.

Rudd started third and led 55 of the 300 laps in notching his lone win of the 1994 season.  Ford drivers took seven of the top 10 finishing positions.  Joe Nemechek was the highest-finishing rookie, in 19th place.

Pole sitter Ernie Irvan led a race-high 176 laps but was involved in a late-race accident that saddled him with a 30th-place finish.  There were 19 lead changes among 11 drivers, with 17 cautions for 79 laps – more than a quarter of the race distance.

The number of cautions and caution laps from the 1994 race still stand as track records.

Though he finished second to Rudd on that summer’s day in New Hampshire, Earnhardt had the last laugh that season – cruising to the last of his record seven championships by more than 400 points over runner-up Martin.  Rudd placed fifth in the final standings.

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series returns to Loudon this week for Sunday’s Camping World RV Sales 301 at what is known today as New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Visit MRN.com on Thursday at 12:30 p.m. (ET) to hear the complete broadcast of the 1994 Slick 50  300 at New Hampshire International Speedway, anchored by Barney Hall and Eli Gold.  Motor Racing Network – "The Voice of NASCAR" – features a classic race each week on "Throwback Thursday" only at MRN.com.

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Jan. 23, 2018 7:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2018 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites