NASCAR Penalizes 12 Cup Teams Practice Time


Martin Truex Jr.'s team is among those being penalized practice time for being late to qualifying inspection at Martinsville. (Photo: Getty Images)


Twelve NASCAR Sprint Cup teams, including those of Matt Kenseth and Carl Edwards, will be penalized 15 minutes of practice time Friday at Texas Motor Speedway.

The penalties are for being late to qualifying inspection line last weekend at Martinsville Speedway.

The teams penalized are: Kyle Larson, Clint Bowyer, Ryan Newman, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Landon Cassill, Cole Whitt, Michael Annett, Martin Truex Jr., Reed Sorenson, Parker Kligerman, Kenseth and Edwards.

Cup teams have 1 hour, 50 minutes of practice Friday, beginning at 6 p.m. ET. The clock on these 15-minute penalties begin when the cars are ready for practice.

The penalty for each team doesn’t begin until the car is ready for practice.

Robin Pemberton, NASCAR vice president of competition, said greater penalties could come if this issue persists.

"To be fair to the garage, you have to maintain schedules and equal opportunities to work on your cars,'' Pemberton said. "We're more structured this year with getting our cars through inspection, getting them out on the line for qualifying.

"So to be fair to all the competitors, we have certain timeframes which you're allowed to work on your car, when you have to be out of the garage and getting ready for qualifying.

"We'll continue to look at this. It's not anything towards any shenanigans going on or any problems or issues with racetracks or inspection or anything like that. It's just a way of doing business. If later on we have to make an adjustment to some practice times or things of that nature, we'll do them, but it will be later in the season."

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2018 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites