MRN Flashback: 1991 Busch Clash


The 1991 Busch Clash marked the fourth of Dale Earnhardt’s six wins in the event, a record. No one else has more than three. (Photo: ISC Archives)


On Feb. 10, 1991, Dale Earnhardt started last but finished first in the Busch Clash to help get that year’s edition of Budweiser Speedweeks rolling.

The non-points special event, known today as the Sprint Unlimited, traditionally kicks off a new year of NASCAR competition and features pole winners from the previous season.

In 1991, it took "The Intimidator" less than 16 minutes to cover the 20-lap race distance and park his No. 3 GM Goodwrench Chevrolet in the Winner’s Circle.  Earnhardt’s margin of victory over second-place Mark Martin was just two car lengths.

Rusty Wallace finished third with Bill Elliott and Kyle Petty completing the top five.  Ken Schrader finished 12th in his bid for a third straight victory in the race.

The 1991 Busch Clash marked the fourth of Earnhardt’s six wins in the event, a record.  No one else has more than three.

Saturday night’s 36th running of the Sprint Unlimited will feature a field of 18 drivers led by six-time Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson and defending race winner Kevin Harvick.

Visit on Thursday at 12 p.m. (ET) to hear the complete broadcast of the 1991 Busch Clash, along with the ARCA 200, from Daytona International Speedway – anchored by Barney Hall and Eli Gold.  Motor Racing Network – "The Voice of NASCAR" – features a classic race broadcast each week on "Throwback Thursday" at

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Dec. 19, 2017 7:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites