Stars Will Induct 2014 NASCAR Hall of Fame Class

Richard Petty, Maurice Petty

Richard Petty will induct his brother, Maurice, into the NASCAR Hall of Fame on Wednesday. (Photo: Getty Images)


A brother, a contemporary, a rival, a colleague and a friend will all take the stage to induct this year’s Class of 2014 into the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Hall of Famer Richard Petty, Waddell Wilson, Harry Gant, Humpy Wheeler and Blake Shelton will induct the fifth class – Maurice Petty, Fireball Roberts, Jack Ingram, Tim Flock and Dale Jarrett – Wednesday at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, N.C.

The five legends, who account for 15 NASCAR championships, also will be joined on stage by five current stars, combining for 15 national series championships. Aric Almirola, Jeff Gordon, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson and Tony Stewart will take part in the evening’s festivities.

The Induction Ceremony begins at 7 p.m. ET and will air on Motor Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio and Fox Sports 1. Joe Moore and Dave Moody will anchor the Motor Racing Network broadcast.

Jarrett has experience as an inductor, joining his brother Glenn and sister Patti Makar to induct father Ned into the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s second class.

“That was really a cool place to be and see the pride on his face, and to be able to show him how proud we were of him,” Jarrett said of inducting his father. “This time will be a little different as I'm the one handing out the ‘thank-you’s’ and accolades to others. It’s going to be an emotional time.”

As long lasting as they are varied, this year’s inductee-inductor relationships are uniquely special – each with a story all its own.

Maurice Petty built the engines that propelled his brother Richard to seven NASCAR championships and most of his 200 wins.

Fireball Roberts won the 1963 Southern 500 with an engine built by Waddell Wilson.

Jack Ingram and Harry Gant had a fierce rivalry that helped build the popularity of what is now the NASCAR Nationwide Series.

Tim Flock worked with Humpy Wheeler at Charlotte Motor Speedway for more than 30 years.

After an introduction by former teammate Elliott Sadler nearly a decade ago, Dale Jarrett and country music star Blake Shelton have become close friends.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will kick off with a media red carpet entrance in the Great Hall at the NASCAR Hall of Fame at 4:15 p.m. ET.  The formal presentations begin during the Induction Dinner, where the inductees will receive their NASCAR Hall of Fame jackets. Chris Economaki will also be honored as the third recipient of the Squier-Hall Award for NASCAR Media Excellence.

Next MRN Broadcast

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites