2010 Sprint Cup Fan Awards: Biggest Disappointment

Mark Martin

Mark Martin failed to make the Chase in 2010. (Photo: Getty Images)


MotorRacingNetwork.com continues our annual NASCAR Sprint Cup Fan Awards for 2010 with the sixth category: Biggest Disappointment.

After challenging for the 2009 Sprint Cup title and winning five races along the way, this season was a big downturn for Mark Martin.

The veteran wound up outside the Chase and was not able to mount a challenge to make the playoffs and attempt a run for the championship. He started the year out with a frustrating series of runs that unfortunately snowballed as the year progressed.

Although Martin ended the campaign running much better than the way he started 2010, at the end of the schedule he went winless and could only muster an average finish of 14.9 over the 26 points races.

Martin’s struggles were in part one of the reasons team owner Rick Hendrick shook up his personnel, and in 2011 Lance McGrew will replace Alan Gustafson as crew chief in hopes of turning around the No. 5 Chevrolet’s fortunes.

Let us know your favorite for Biggest Disappointment by placing your vote today at MotorRacingNetwork.com's Facebook page or by submitting an email to press@motorracingnetwork.com. Votes will be tallied up on December 19 along with the winners of all categories and will be featured on MotorRacingNetwork.com that day. Voting on all previous categories will continue through the 19th.

Other possible submissions could include:

  • Dale Earnhardt Jr., who struggled through his third season as a member of Hendrick Motorsports and went winless while also missing the Chase.
  • The entire Richard Petty Motorsports stable of AJ Allmendinger, Paul Menard, Elliott Sadler and most notably Kasey Kahne, all missing the Chase and none finding victory lane.
  • Ryan Newman, who after making the Chase in 2009 was not able to join teammate and team owner Tony Stewart in this year’s championship field.

Previous Categories

Related Topics:

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup

Next MRN Broadcast

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites