Sadler Speeds to Texas Pole

Elliott Sadler

"It has been a good day to be Elliott Sadler kind of day." (Photo: Getty Images)


Starting Lineup

Elliott Sadler rocketed around Texas Motor Speedway with a lap of 195.397 mph to win the pole for Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series AAA Texas 500.

"It has been a good day to be Elliott Sadler kind of day," said Sadler, who earlier in the day announced plans to join Kevin Harvick Inc. as a full-time nationwide Series driver in 2011.

He won his first Cup Series pole on Friday since Talladega in 2006. It was the eighth of his Cup career.

“This has been just a great day and like I said earlier, the first step in the rest of my life,” Sadler said.

"I've been in some very fortunate situations throughout my career and I feel like running the races for KHI this year is a perfect example. It opened a lot of doors for me and obviously helped get us to this point. We're committing to race for the Nationwide Championship in 2011.”

Sadler has won a pole in all three of NASCAR’s top divisions this season.

Greg Biffle will start outside the front row after his lap of 193.653 mph was the second fastest of the session.

Carl Edwards, Juan Pablo Montoya and David Ragan rounded out the top five.

Kurt Busch, Clint Bowyer, Regan Smith, Mark Martin and A.J. Allmendinger completed the first ten qualifiers.

It wasn’t a particularly good qualifying effort for the three drivers battling for the Sprint Cup championship who came into the weekend separated by only 38 points.

Chase for the Sprint Cup point leader Jimmie Johnson, who has a 14-point advantage with three races to go, was the best of the trio and will start 17th on Sunday.

Third place in the standings Kevin Harvick could only turn the 26th best lap of the session while Denny Hamlin, in second behind Johnson and the April Texas winner, will start 30th.

Nationwide Series regular Trevor Bayne qualified for his first career Sprint Cup race and will start 28th in the Wood Brothers Ford.

Six drivers failed to make the field: J.J. Yeley, Scott Riggs, Michael McDowell, David Green, Josh Wise and Brian Keselowski.

Sunday’s AAA Texas 500 is slated for a 3 p.m. ET start.

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Jan. 23, 2018 7:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2018 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites