Gordons Crew Best In Charlotte

Jeff Gordon's No. 24 crew won the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award in Sunday night's Coca-Cola 600, NASCAR's longest race of the season.

The pit road win lifted Gordon’s crew into a three-way tie for first place with two victories. The other teams with two wins are the No. 56 crew for Martin Truex Jr. and the No. 17 crew for Matt Kenseth.

Gordon’s No. 24 DuPont Stars & Stripes Chevrolet spent the least amount of time of pit road – 350.435 seconds – during the 400-lap, 600-mile race at Charlotte Motor Speedway. The effort helped Gordon to a sixth-place finish in the Memorial Day weekend classic.

Finishing second was Ryan Newman’s U.S. Army crew (351.822) and third went to Mark Martin’s No. 5 CARQUEST Auto Parts crew (360.771).

"We had to make some calls in an effort to gain track position on Sunday night, and the pit crew did a great job of adjusting to those last-second instructions," said Steve Letarte, crew chief of the No. 24 DuPont Stars & Stripes Chevrolet.

Gordon’s over-the-wall crew consists of: Clay Robinson (front-tire changer), Mike Houston (front-tire carrier), Joe Slingerland (rear-tire changer), Matt Ver Meer (rear-tire carrier), Jeff Cook (jackman), Caleb Hurd (gasman), Jamie Frady (catch can), Colin Fambrough (back-up tire changer) and Andy Kruep (eighth man). The team’s pit crew coach is Greg Morin.

The winning pit crew in each Sprint Cup race will earn $5,000 and a Tissot V8 Quartz Chronograph watch. The team with the most Tissot Pit Road Precision Award wins at the completion of the 36-race schedule will receive a $105,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the over-the-wall crew members and driver.

Tissot has been the official watch and timekeeper of NASCAR since 2006. The company is also the official timekeeper for a number of other sports, including the MotoGP World Championship, the Ice Hockey World Championship and the Cycling World Championship.

2010 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Winners
Daytona, 2/14 Juan Pablo Montoya Team
Fontana, 2/21 Jeff Gordon Team
Las Vegas, 2/28 Martin Truex Jr. Team
Atlanta, 3/7 Martin Truex Jr. Team
Bristol, 3/21 Brad Keselowski Team
Martinsville, 3/29 Clint Bowyer Team
Phoenix, 4/10 Matt Kenseth Team
Texas, 4/19 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team
Talladega 4/25 David Reutimann Team
Richmond, 5/1 Ryan Newman Team
Darlington, 5/8 Jamie McMurray Team
Dover, 5/16 Matt Kenseth Team
Charlotte, 5/30 Jeff Gordon Team

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Jan. 23, 2018 7:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2018 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites