Roush Fenway Looking For 400Th Win

With the 2010 NASCAR season underway, Roush Fenway Racing is looking for its 400th overall win. The team enters the weekend with eight entries between the Nationwide and Sprint Cup Series events and hopes to add to its 21 wins at the famed 2.5-mile tri-oval.

“It’s really a great opportunity to be involved in this business, to be involved in this sport, and to compete in front of the nation’s most avid and brand loyal fans,” said Jack Roush, owner, Roush Fenway Racing. “And of course to have the support of Ford Motor Company through it all is great. Ford is the river that has run through and they provide support for all our programs. To be within reach of a 400th win is pretty incredible.”

Roush Fenway’s 21 Daytona wins include 14 road course wins, five Sprint Cup Series wins and two Truck Series wins. One notable missing accolade, a Nationwide win. But that could change with veteran Carl Edwards behind the wheel of the No. 60 Copart/Fastenal Ford for his sixth full-time Nationwide season and two up-and-coming rookies in Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. and Colin Braun. Paul Menard will also be a factor in the Nationwide race as Roush Fenway’s fourth full-time entry.

Of Roush Fenway’s seven drivers competing this weekend, three have won at the track including Matt Kenseth’s Daytona 500 win just a year ago. Greg Biffle captured his first career Sprint Cup win at Daytona in July of 2003 and Edwards drove the No. 99 F-150 to victory lane in the Truck Series in 2004.

Roush Fenway’s first win came on June 3, 1984 in the Trans-Am Series at Sears Point in California. Greg Pickett took the checkered flag that day and since that time, Roush Fenway has seen 43 drivers bring home a total of 399 victories. Drivers that include Paul Newman, Lyn St. James, Robby Gordon, Wally Dallenbach, Jr., Bruce Jenner, Max Jones, Mark Martin, Jeff Burton, and six of the current Roush Fenway drivers.

The team is hoping to capture that 400th win this weekend ... maybe even with a 44th driver.

Related Topics:

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup, 2010

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Dec. 19, 2017 7:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites