Races Of The Decade

May 20, 2000 – Lowe’s – Sprint All-Star Race
Dale Earnhardt Jr. led just two laps – the final two – to edge his father, Dale Earnhardt, and Dale Jarrett … Dale Jr. became the first rookie to win the All-Star Race … He passed Jarrett on Lap 69 and went on to post the victory.

October 14, 2000 – Talladega
This was Dale Earnhardt’s 76th and final NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victory … He went from 18th position to first over the last five laps of the race … There were 21 different leaders and 49 lead changes … Earnhardt led a total of 34 laps.

March 11, 2001 – Atlanta
Driving for Richard Childress Racing, Kevin Harvick wins his first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race … Harvick was put in the No. 29 car following the tragic death of Dale Earnhardt three weeks earlier at Daytona … Harvick edged Jeff Gordon by .006 seconds, which is the fourth-closest Margin of Victory since the inception of electronic scoring in May, 1993.

July 7, 2001 – Daytona
Dale Earnhardt Jr. wins the mid-summer Daytona race at the track five months after his father's passing following an accident in the Daytona 500 … Dale Jr. dominated the race, leading 116 of 160 laps.

March 16, 2003 – Darlington
In what is the closest Margin of Victory - .002 seconds – since the advent of electronic scoring in May, 1993, Ricky Craven edges Kurt Busch to the finish line … The final lap was the only lap Craven led the entire race.

Feb. 15, 2004 – Daytona
Dale Earnhardt Jr. wins the Daytona 500; an emotional day for the No. 8 Budweiser Chevrolet … Dale Jr. led the last 20 laps to hold off Tony Stewart, who led a race-high 97 laps … There were 10 different leaders and 28 lead changes.

Nov. 21, 2004 – Homestead-Miami
Kurt Busch wins the first championship under the new Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup format … Busch does not clinch the title until the final lap of the race … The eight points separating Busch and runner-up Jimmie Johnson is the closest in series history … Busch’s Roush-Fenway Racing teammate Greg Biffle wins the race, leading a race-high 117 laps; Johnson finishes second and Busch finishes fifth.

March 20, 2005 – Atlanta
Carl Edwards grabs his first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victory, besting Jimmie Johnson by just .028 seconds … Edwards and Johnson rubbed and banged over the last few laps of the race that set up for an exciting finish.

Feb.18, 2007 – Daytona
In a wild finish, Kevin Harvick edges Mark Martin to the finish line by just .020 seconds – the closest Daytona 500 Margin of Victory since the advent of electronic scoring in 1993.

Sept. 21, 2008 – Dover
Greg Biffle outraced the field down the stretch to win his second consecutive race in the Chase … Biffle was running up front most of the day and was rubbing and bumping with teammate Matt Kenseth for 15 laps before making his pass for the lead with eight laps to go … Biffle fought off a challenge from another teammate – Carl Edwards- to post the win, as Roush Fenway Racing finished 1-2-3.

May 16, 2009 – Lowe’s – Sprint All-Star Race
It was the 25th running of the Sprint All-Star Race and the evening’s action on the race track delivered an exciting 100 laps of fierce competition for the fans. Tony Stewart passed Matt Kenseth through Turn 2 on Lap 99 to capture his first all-star race win and his first trip to Victory Lane as a driver-owner. Stewart led only the final two laps, but that was all he needed. The race was divided up into four segments: 50 laps; 20 laps; 20 laps; and a go-for-broke 10-lap shooout at the end.

Related Topics:

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup, 2009

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Dec. 19, 2017 7:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites