Johnson Wins Fourth Quarter Driver Award

Jimmie Johnson was voted fourth quarter Driver of the Year 2009 by a panel of broadcasters and journalists.

Johnson, the Driver of the Year in 2006 and 2007, wrapped up his fourth- straight NASCAR Sprint Cup Championship then took 12 out of the 16 first-place votes and was the only driver on all ballots. He earned 130 points.

Kyle Busch, his on-track rival, was second with 53 points. NHRA's Robert Hight was third with 49-points. Kyle Busch, who wrapped up his first championship, in the NASCAR Nationwide Series for Joe Gibbs Racing, in addition to his full-time driving duties in the Sprint Cup series, also scored wins in Camping World Series and received one first-place vote.

NHRA's Robert Hight who scored a Funny Car Championship for owner, John Force, (Driver of the Year in 1996) had two first-place votes.

Dario Franchitti who won his second IndyCar title finished fourth in the voting with 41 points.

Top Fuel's Tony Schumacher, last year's Driver of the Year was fifth.

A total of 14 drivers scored points in the fourth quarter voting.

In its' 42nd year, the Driver of the Year title is unique and the oldest award of its' type. A panel of 20 leading journalists from across the U.S. determines the winner. In quarterly voting, points are awarded on a declining 9, 6, 4,3,2,1 basis.

Johnson will receive a trophy and a Tissot wristwatch to be presented at a later date.

A secret ballot to name the Driver of the Year 2009 will be conducted this week and results will announced.

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Dec. 14, 2017 1:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites