Gordons Pit Crew Wins Again

It was a double victory for the No. 24 team Sunday at Texas Motor Speedway in Forth Worth. Along with driver Jeff Gordon winning the 500-mile NASCAR Sprint Cup race, the No. 24 over-the-wall crew won the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award.

Gordon’s crew also won the pit road competition the previous week in Martinsville, Va., becoming the season's first multiple Tissot winner.

The No. 24 crew claimed the Tissot win in Texas due to Gordon’s DuPont/National Guard Chevrolet spending the least amount of time on pit road -- 217.453 seconds. The crew’s effort this season has played a key role in Gordon’s position as the leader in the Sprint Cup driver standings.

"The No. 24 crew is a strong part of our organization, and they gave us the opportunity to win Sunday's race," said Steve Letarte, crew chief of the No. 24 DuPont Chevrolet. "They were consistent from stop one until the final stop that gave us the lead off pit road, and they deserve the recognition and accolades that come along with this award."

Gordon's pit crew consists of: Clay Robinson (front-tire changer), Mike Houston (front tire carrier), Tim Ladyga (rear-tire changer), Jeff Knight (rear-tire carrier), Jeff Cook (jackman), Caleb Hurd (gasman), Jamie Frady (catch can) and Andy Kruep (eighth man). The pit crew coach is Greg Morin.

For winning the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award, the No. 24 team will receive $5,000. The team with the most pit road wins at the completion of the 36-race schedule will earn a $100,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the driver and over-the-wall crew members.

Tissot has been the official watch and timekeeper of NASCAR since 2006. The company is also the official timekeeper for a number of other sports, including the MotoGP World Championship, the Ice Hockey World Championship and the Cycling World Championship.

2009 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Winners
Daytona 2/15 Reed Sorenson Team
Fontana, 2/22 Tony Stewart Team
Las Vegas, 3/1 Greg Biffle Team
Atlanta 3/8 Clint Bowyer Team
Bristol (3/22) Jimmie Johnson Team
Martinsville (3/29) Jeff Gordon Team
Fort Worth (4/5) Jeff Gordon Team

Next MRN Broadcast

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites