Season Review: Greg Biffle

Greg Biffle's 2008 season returned him to the ranks as one of the elite drivers in the Sprint Cup Series.

After struggling the past two seasons, Biffle put together a solid campaign that included a return to the Chase field.

Biffle racked up 12 top-five finishes and scored a pair of poles to go along with his two victories, which he won in back-to-back fashion to open the Chase portion of the schedule in September.

Those wins moved Biffle into contention to win the championship, but he ultimately faded during the playoff run and finished 217 points behind Jimmie Johnson in the standings.

"You look back at some of the things – it's easy to Monday morning quarterback, and say, 'Oh, well, we're going to do this different and that different,' but, overall I think we had a great Chase," the Roush Fenway Racing driver said. "Look at us: We're third in points, nobody even considered us as making a title run before the Chase started, and I think we came out with two wins and a third and still have run strong everywhere. I think that that's a pretty good statement.

"When we were the second race in, third race in, I felt like, 'Yeah, we've got a solid chance at this title.' And then every week it just slipped a further away. Every single week, we fell from there in the points, never did gain from there on out."

Biffle is already looking forward to next year, and trying to learn from this year's Chase to make another run at the title.

"We understand that we need to be better to win the title," he said. "But I think if we can continue to build on where we're at, if we can run next season like we are now, and get better and better next year, hopefully we'll put up a little better fight in the Chase. Maybe a couple of more wins – I know we have two, but maybe we come into the Chase with two and maybe we win two or three in the would be a success for us next year, and [put us] a little closer."

Past Season Reviews

4th Place - Kevin Harvick
5th Place - Clint Bowyer
6th Place - Jeff Burton
7th Place - Jeff Gordon
8th Place - Denny Hamlin
9th Place - Tony Stewart
10th Place - Kyle Busch
11th Place - Matt Kenseth
12th Place - Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Nov. 28, 2017 7:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)