Last Shall Go First

Kyle Busch was the final driver to qualify for the Sprint All-Star Challenge and he will start Saturday night's race from the pole after recording the fastest time in the session. Also Elliott Sadler grabbed the top spot for the Sprint Showdown.

Busch took the last trip around Lowe's Motor Speedway of the 21 cars already locked into Saturday night's race and finished his three-lap run with a four-tire pit stop in 121.95 seconds.

"I'm surprised," Busch said "I thought I got busted speeding there. If I wasn’t it was that close - very close. I almost messed it up."

"That thing is humming this weekend."

Jeff Gordon had held the top spot but will now start outside the front row.

“I certainly knew that Kyle would be tough to beat,” Gordon said. “We felt like he would be faster than us on the track. Of course you know that he’s going to be aggressive on pit road. Those were the areas that he beat us.”

Kurt Busch and Martin Truex Jr. make up the second row.

Greg Biffle, Jamie McMurray, Jeff Burton, Ryan Newman, Clint Bowyer and Bobby Labonte rounded out the top 10.

Jimmie Johnson will start 21st after having his time disallowed when he was missing a lug nut after his stop and was also outside his pit box.

Sadler will lead the field to the green flag in Saturday night's preliminary to the Sprint All-Star race, with the top two drivers from the Showdown earning their way into the main event.

The polesitter has won the Showdown five times in its history.

Brian Vickers will start outside the front row after turning a lap of 184.786 mph.

David Ragan, A.J. Allmendinger and Robby Gordon rounded out the top five in qualifying.

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Dec. 12, 2017 7:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites