Hamlins Team Fastest At Lowes

Denny Hamlin's No. 11 over-the-wall crew claimed the weekly Checkers/Rally's Double Drive-Thru Challenge win in Sunday's Memorial Day weekend classic at Lowe's Motor Speedway. This is the team's third win and moves them in to second-place in the season-long standings.

The FedEx team, which spent 423.882 seconds on pit road, helped its driver to a ninth-place finish in the Coca-Cola 600.

"It was another good night for the No. 11 FedEx crew in Charlotte," said Hamlin. "Our team chemistry is really good right now and it's showing in our performance across the board. We are getting closer to that win every week and with this crew I know we're going to get it soon. I wouldn't be surprised if they win more awards for their efforts."

Checkers/Rally's will award an $11,000 prize to Hamlin’s over-the-wall team for winning the weekly competition. An additional $111,150 will be presented to the pit crew with the most Double Drive-Thru Challenge wins at the completion of the 36-race Nextel Cup schedule.

The No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing crew includes: Scott Wood (jackman), Scott Merritt (front-tire carrier), Dennis Terry (front-tire changer), Heath Cherry (rear-tire carrier), Jonathan Sherman (rear-tire changer), Brad Rothlin (gasman), John Eicher (catch can) and Bobby Christensen (eighth-man). The pit crew coordinator is Paul Alepa.

Twelve races into the Nextel Cup season, Mark Martin's/Regan Smith's No. 01 pit crew leads the Checkers/Rally's Double Drive-Thru Challenge standings with four wins.

To win the Checkers/Rally's Double Drive-Thru Challenge, teams are required to finish on the lead lap while spending the least amount of time on pit road. Checkers/Rally's is in its third season as title sponsor for the pit crew challenge.

Busch Series Result – Lowe's Motor Speedway

The No. 90 crew of Stephen Leicht picked up the Checkers/Rally's Double Drive-Thru Challenge win in Saturday night's Busch Series race at Lowe's Motor Speedway. The team spent 175.850 seconds on pit road.

Truck Series Result – Mansfield Motorsports Park

Dennis Setzer's No. 75 over-the-wall crew spent the least amount of time on pit road during Saturday's Truck Series event at Mansfield Motorsports Park, lifting its driver to a victory in the Ohio 250.

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Dec. 12, 2017 7:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites