Army Team Wins Challenge

Mark Martin’s No. 01 pit crew earned the Checkers/Rally’s Double Drive-Thru Challenge win in the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series season opener at Daytona International Speedway, helping boost the U.S. Army driver to a runner-up finish in Sunday’s Daytona 500.

This is the second consecutive pit crew challenge win for the Army crew, which claimed top honors in the 2006 season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway

"I just can’t say enough about the work of our pit crew," said Martin, whose team spent 216.620 seconds on pit road during Sunday’s event. "Those guys were Army Strong in the pits and helped give me my best shot ever at winning the Daytona 500.

"They (the crew) put us out in the lead when we needed it and I feel terrible that I wasn’t able to hold on. Those guys really stepped up to the plate when the pressure was at its greatest and they delivered like champions do."

The No. 01 over-the-wall crew consists of: Scott King (jackman), Colin Pasi (front-tire carrier), Charlie Brock (front-tire changer), Dwayne Moore (rear-tire carrier), Dave Woodhead (rear-tire changer), Danny Harrington (gasman), Scott Hazlett (catch can) and J.D. Hilton (windshield). The pit crew coach is Lance Munksgard.

To win the Checkers/Rally’s Double Drive-Thru Challenge, teams are required to finish on the lead lap while spending the least amount of time on pit road. The program pays $11,000 to the weekly winner. An additional $111,150 bonus will be awarded to the pit crew with the most wins at the completion of the 36-race schedule.

Busch Series Result – Daytona
Aric Almirola’s No. 18 over-the-wall crew grabbed the Checkers/Rally’s Double Drive-Thru Challenge win in Saturday’s NASCAR Busch Series event at Daytona International Speedway. The crew spent 83.361 seconds on pit road.

Truck Series Result – Daytona
Johnny Benson’s No. 23 over-the-wall crew took top honors in Friday night’s NASCAR Craftsman Truck race at Daytona. The team spent 129.793 seconds on pit road.

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Nov. 28, 2017 7:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites