Facts Figures: Texas

A look at some NASCAR NEXTEL Cup facts and figures at Texas Motor Speedway as the series gets ready to run Sunday's Dickies 500.

0 - Kyle Busch is the only "Chase" driver to have never led a lap at Texas Motor Speedway
1 - Only one of the 11 races at TMS have been won from the pole starting position.
2 - Two "Chase" drivers, Jeff Burton (spring 1997) and Dale Earnhardt Jr. (spring 2000), posted their career-first NASCAR NEXTEL Cup victories at Texas Motor Speedway.
3 - Three drivers, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Mark Martin and Tony Stewart, lead all others with six top 10s at Texas.
4 - Jeff Gordon and Mark Martin lead all active drivers in top fives at Texas with four each.
5 - Five of the "Chase" drivers have won at Texas Motor Speedway: Jeff Burton, Mark Martin, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Matt Kenseth and Kasey Kahne.
5.5 - Denny Hamlin's 5.5 average finish at Texas is the best of all "Chase" drivers.
6 - Six of the "Chase" drivers posted top-10 finishes at Texas in April, including Kasey Kahne who won from the pole.
7 - Ford leads all manufacturers with seven victories at Texas.
8 - Mark Martin's eight top-10 starts at Texas leads all drivers and have led to him being third in average start (12.0) among drivers that have competed in all 11 races.
9 - The number of starts 2004 winner Elliott Sadler has made at TMS.
10 - Ten drivers have competed in all 11 races at Texas.
10.750 - Of the "Chase" drivers who have won at TMS, Dale Earnhardt Jr. has the best average finish of 10.750.
11 - Jimmie Johnson has finished 11th or better in all six of his races at TMS.
14 - Retiring driver Terry Labonte is one of 14 drivers to have won multiple NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series championship titles.
15 - Casey Mears has posted top-15 finishes in each of his last four races at Texas.
24 - The degree of banking in the corners at Texas Motor Speedway.
31 - Matt Kenseth won the 2002 race from a 31st starting position, the furthest back of any driver and one of three winning positions outside of the top 10.
101 - Jimmie Johnson has ranked in the top-10 in the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup point standings for 101 consecutive races.
151.055 - Carl Edwards set the current track race record of 151.055 mph for his victory in last year's event.
200 - Kevin Lepage is expected to make his 200th NASCAR NEXTEL Cup start at Texas Motor Speedway.
334 - The number of laps in Sunday's Dickies 500.
407 - Dale Jarrett has led 407 laps at Texas, the most of any driver.
848 - Terry Labonte will be making his 848th, and final, NASCAR NEXTEL Cup start this weekend at TMS.
2002 - The 2002 race was postponed until Monday, April 8 due to rain.
2005 - Ryan Newman swept both poles at Texas in 2005 - the first year of twice-a-year racing there. He and Bobby Labonte are the only multiple pole winners at Texas, with each having two.
2,250 - The length in feet of the front stretch at Texas' 1.5-mile oval speedway.
303,000 - Terry Labonte has raced over 303,000 miles during his 28-year NASCAR NEXTEL Cup career.
7,089,515 - The posted awards for Sunday's Dickies 500 at Texas Motor Speedway.

Related Topics:

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup, 2006

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Nov. 22, 2017 12:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites