Record Payout For Stewart

NEW YORK – Tonight NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series champion Tony Stewart will collect $6,173,633 in point fund awards – a NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series point fund award record – along with special awards totaling $517,000. The post-season payouts bring his 2005 season total to $13,578,168, the largest single-season total in NASCAR history. Stewart's take exceeds the previous single-season record, $10,979,757, set by Jeff Gordon in 2001.

Stewart's career winnings now total $48,467,449, making him the fifth-highest money winner on NASCAR's all-time list.

Over $25 million in point fund awards will be distributed to the top 25 drivers in the final NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series point standings. Runner-up Greg Biffle will receive over $2.62 million in point fund awards, bringing his season total to over $8.35 million.

With over $6.7 million in race winnings this season, fifth-place Jimmie Johnson was the season's next-highest money winner. Johnson will receive $20,000 in post-season special awards and more than $1.7 million from the point fund, for a 2005 season total of over $8.33 million.

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Dec. 19, 2017 7:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites