Shootout Line Up Set

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - Twenty-one drivers are eligible to compete in the 27th Budweiser Shootout at Daytona, including nine former winners, four newcomers and reigning Nextel Cup Series champion Kurt Busch. The non-points paying race, which is set for Feb. 12, will officially kick off the NASCAR portion of Daytona Speedweeks.

Making their Shootout debuts will be Greg Biffle, Kasey Kahne, Brian Vickers and Casey Mears. Vickers, one of just seven Nextel Cup drivers to capture more than one pole and twelve total pole winners in 2004 - his rookie season, is looking forward to the opportunity. "I'm definitely excited," stated Vickers. "We ran the final five events of 2003 in the No. 25 Chevrolet while competing for the Busch Series championship and got knocked off of more than one pole, plus I think we had like four other front row starts in 2004, so I really feel that this GMAC Racing team and I earned this. We went through a big learning curve together as a team this past season, but obviously with everything we've been through and all of our organizational changes announced recently, 2005 will be bringing an entirely new look and attitude for this No. 25 team when we pull into Daytona."

The Shootout also will kick off three farewell tours for retiring drivers: Rusty Wallace's "Last Call," Mark Martin's "Salute To You" and Terry Labonte's "Shifting Gears, Texas Style" tours. Hendrick Motorsports has all four of its full-time drivers from the past season eligible for the 2005 Bud Shootout (Kyle Busch only ran a partial Cup schedule in 2004 and will be a Raybestos rookie-of-the-year contender in 2005).

The complete line-up of eligible drivers for the Shootout:

  • 1. Ryan Newman, 8 poles (Rockingham, Bristol, Loudon, Richmond, Charlotte, Martinsville, Atlanta, Phoenix)
  • 2. Jeff Gordon, 6 (Martinsville, Michigan, Sonoma, Daytona, Chicago, Bristol)
  • 3. Kasey Kahne, 4 (Las Vegas, Darlington, California, Pocono)
  • 4. Jeremy Mayfield, 2 (Dover, Dover)
  • 5. Casey Mears, 2 (Pocono, Indianapolis)
  • 6. Joe Nemechek, 2 (Talladega, Kansas)
  • 7. Brian Vickers, 2 (Richmond, California)
  • 8. Greg Biffle, 1 (Daytona)
  • 9. Kurt Busch, 1 (Homestead)
  • 10. Jimmie Johnson, 1 (Charlotte)
  • 11. Bobby Labonte, 1 (Texas)
  • 12. Ricky Rudd, 1 (Talladega)
  • 13. Dale Jarrett (Shootout winner in 1996, 2000, 2004)
  • 14. Tony Stewart (Shootout winner in 2001, 2002)
  • 15. Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Shootout winner in 2003)
  • 16. Mark Martin (Shootout winner in 1999)
  • 17. Rusty Wallace (Shootout winner in 1998)
  • 18. Geoffrey Bodine (Shootout winner in 1992)
  • 19. Ken Schrader (Shootout winner in 1989, 1990)
  • 20. Bill Elliott (Shootout winner in 1987)
  • 21. Terry Labonte (Shootout winner in 1985)

    Tickets to the Budweiser Shootout can be purchased by calling 1-800-PITSHOP, or by logging onto
  • Related Topics:

    Monster Energy NASCAR Cup, 2004

    Next MRN Broadcast

    On Air Now
    Jan. 23, 2018 7:00 PM ET

    Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

    © 2018 MRN. All Rights Reserved

    FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

    ISC Track Sites