Phoenix Handicaps

Kurt Busch- Busch's first two Cup outings at Phoenix didn't go well but he's posted fourth and sixth place finishes here the last two times out.

Jimmie Johnson- Johnson finished second here last year and led 84 laps.

Jeff Gordon- Phoenix is one of those rare tracks on the Cup circuit Gordon has not won at. But he does have top 10 finishes in nine of his eleven Cup starts here including in the last six consecutive races here. Gordon did win a Busch race here in 1999.

Mark Martin- Martin won here in 1993 and has finished second at Phoenix five times. Overall he has thirteen top 10 finishes in his sixteen Phoenix Cup starts.

Dale Earnhardt Jr.- Earnhardt won here last year and finished fifth at Phoenix in 2002.

Tony Stewart- Stewart won here as a rookie after leading more than half the race. He has two additional top 10 finishes in five starts here.

Ryan Newman- Newman failed to finish his first two Phoenix Cup races at Phoenix but finished third here last year. He's also sat on the pole for the last two Phoenix races.

Elliott Sadler- Sadler has one top 10 finish in five starts here. His average finish in those five starts is 24th and he has yet to lead a lap at Phoenix.

Matt Kenseth- Kenseth won here in 2002 and has top 10 finishes in the last three Phoenix races.

Jeremy Mayfield- Mayfield finished second here in 2000 but for the most part this track has been a disaster for him. In nine starts he's finished on the lead lap once and failed to finish three times. Four times he's finished fortieth or worse and twice he's finished dead last.

Jamie McMurray- McMurray finished twelfth here in last year's Cup race.

Dale Jarrett- Jarrett won here in 1997 posting one of two top 5 finishes he's managed in sixteen career Phoenix Cup starts. He's batting .500 with eight top 10 finishes in those sixteen races but finished 29th here last year.

Kasey Kahne- This will be Kahne's first Cup start at Phoenix. He hasn't fared particularly well here in a Busch car.

Kevin Harvick- Harvick hasn't finished better than seventeenth in three Cup starts at Phoenix. He did finish second in last year's Busch race here and has won the Phoenix truck series races the last two years.

Bobby Labonte- Labonte has four top 10 finishes in eleven Cup series starts here but has finished 36th and 39th at Phoenix in the last two races.

Jeff Burton- Burton is one of only two drivers to post two Cup wins at Phoenix. (The other driver was the late Davey Allison.) His win here in 2001 was Burton's last Cup victory to date. He hasn't finished worse than twelfth here in the last six Cup races at Phoenix. If not here, where?

Michael Waltrip- Waltrip's fifth place finish here last year was his first top 5 at Phoenix in fifteen starts. He has a combined three top 10 results in those fifteen races.

Rusty Wallace- Wallace won here in 1998 and has finished second twice at Phoenix. Overall he has seven top 5 finishes in sixteen starts here.

Joe Nemechek- This isn't a good track for Nemechek. In ten starts he's never finished better than eighteenth and his average finish is worse than 25th. Nemechek did finish fourth in last year's Busch race here.

Sterling Marlin- Marlin hasn't managed a top 10 finish in the last eight Phoenix Cup races. He just missed last year with an eleventh place result.

Greg Biffle- Biffle won a Busch race here in 2001 and had top 10 results in all three of his Phoenix Busch starts. He also won the 2001 Truck series race here.

Related Topics:

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup, 2004

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Nov. 21, 2017 7:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites