Junior Sadler Twin Winners

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Elliott Sadler both celebrated victories in the Gatorade Twin 125-mile qualifying races Thursday at Daytona International Speedway.

Earnhardt Jr. took home the win in the first Twin 125 after holding off a hard charging Tony Stewart for his second career win in the event.

"It was hard for anybody to get the lead," said Earnhardt Jr. "Once you got it, you could keep it real easy. The cars were just real tight. From second on back, you would just push real bad behind the leader. I told Tony (Eury) Jr. to just do all he could to get the car as loose as he possibly could for that second run so I could try and pass."

Jamie McMurray, Michael Waltrip and Jeff Burton completed the Top 5. Rounding out the top 10 in the first twin were Bobby Labonte, Kurt Busch, Brendan Gaughan, Ward Burton and Johnny Sauter, who started at the back of the field due to an engine change.

Daytona 500 pole winner, Greg Biffle led the first half of the first 125, 22 laps, until the only caution flag was thrown after Scott Riggs made contact with the wall coming out of Turn 2.

"I was really tight out front and I was pretty much tight everywhere," said Biffle. "I couldn't keep the nose to the ground and it seemed like a lot of guys were like that. We'll work on it some more. We've got another happy hour and I didn't want to mix it up with those guys."

In the second 125, Sadler led three times for 21 laps en route to his first victory at the 2.5-mile superspeedway.

"This is big," said Sadler. "To sit on the outside pole at Daytona with the best everybody brings, I've just got to thank M&M's, Robert Yates Racing for giving me the chance. If I hadn't come out first, I wouldn't have won the race."

Sadler also gave his sponsor, M&M's, their first victory since joining the sport.

"I just told the guys that this is probably the biggest win I've ever had in my life," said Sadler. "It's a very emotional win for me right now, but I just want to say thank you to all the Yates fans that stood beside me and Dale Jarrett last year and we are going to give them something to brag about this year."

Sterling Marlin, Jimmie Johnson, Mark Martin and Kevin Harvick completed the Top 5 in the final Twin.

Sunday's Daytona 500 will be televised live on NBC starting at noon (ET).

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Mar. 25, 2017 9:30 AM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites