Shootout Field Filled

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - In the final Bud Pole Qualifying session of the season last weekend at the New Homestead Miami Speedway, Jamie McMurray earned first career Bud Pole and qualified for the 2004 Budweiser Shootout on Saturday night, Feb. 7 at historic Daytona International Speedway.

McMurray, driver of the No. 42 Havoline Dodge, turned a record lap of 181.111 mph, 29.816 seconds on the new state-of-the-art 20-degree, variable banking at Homestead Miami Speedway. He's the 21st and final driver to qualify for the Budweiser Shootout, a no-holds barred All-Star race that serves as the kickoff to the 2004 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series season.

McMurray, who earned Winston Cup Raybestos Rookie of the Year honors, is excited about having an extra race on his schedule during Speedweeks 2004.

"Typically the guys in the Budweiser Shootout are the guys who race well all week, so it's going to be nice to get to race with those guys before the (Gatorade) 125's," McMurray said.

Drivers that have secured spots by winning poles this season include McMurray, Jeff Green, Dave Blaney, Bobby Labonte, Ryan Newman, Elliott Sadler, Jeremy Mayfield, Jeff Gordon, Terry Labonte, Steve Park, Jimmie Johnson, Boris Said, Tony Stewart, Kevin Harvick and Mike Skinner.

Past winners already in the field are Dale Earnhardt Jr., Mark Martin, Rusty Wallace, Ken Schrader, Bill Elliott and Dale Jarrett.

Daytona International Speedway has tickets available for all Speedweeks 2004 events Online or by calling 1-800-PITSHOP.

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Dec. 12, 2017 7:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites