Earnhardts Team Pit Pros

Dale Earnhardt Jr's pit crew made a late-season charge to capture the 2003 McDonald's Drive-Thru Pit Championship fueled by POWERade.

For winning the championship, Earnhardt’s pit crew will collect a $200,000 bonus. The check presentation will take place Dec. 5 in New York during the NASCAR Winston Cup Awards Banquet at the Waldorf-Astoria.

With five McDonald's/POWERade race victories that paid $20,000 each, Earnhardt’s pit crew earned a total of $300,000 in the season-long championship.

Earnhardt's crew edged Michael Waltrip's pit crew to claim the inaugural championship that recognized and honored the unsung heroes in the NASCAR Winston Cup Series. Earnhardt's team collected 1,243 points while Waltrip’s team totaled 1,230.

The two DEI crews waged an impressive battle with both teams entering last week's season finale in Homestead, Fla. tied in points.

"At the first of the year when we found out about the McDonald's/POWERade program, everybody got pumped up and had something to shoot for," said Tony Eury, crew for Earnhardt’s team. "We never dreamed that it was going to come down to a battle with our own teammate. Both teams put a lot effort into this and it was sure nice of McDonald's and POWERade to recognize their efforts. We are proud to be the first champions of the program.”

Earnhardt's over-the-wall crew consists of: Jeff Clark (gasman), Kevin Pennell (jackman), Phil Drye (front tire changer), Danny Earnhardt (front tire carrier), Jay Guarneri (rear tire changer), Troy Prince (rear tire carrier), Bill Snyder (catch can). Assisting Eury with the crew chief duties is the team’s car chief Tony Eury Jr. Walt Smith is the pit crew coach at DEI.

In Sunday's Ford 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway, Sterling Marlin’s pit crew won the McDonald’s/POWERade championship.

Marlin's No. 40 Dodge spent the least amount of time on pit road – 220.757 seconds. Bill Elliott's Dodge was second at 229.941and Jamie McMurray’s Dodge was third at 246.539.

Marlin's over-the-wall pit crew consists of: Steven Wolfe (front tire changer), Trent Davis (front tire carrier), Mike Atwell (rear tire changer), Tim Shore (rear tire carrier), Greg Pasi (jackman), Jerry Schweitz (gasman) and Rick Reling (catch can). The crew chief is Lee McCall and the team trainer is Al Shuford.

How it Works

During each 2003 NASCAR Winston Cup points event, the participating team whose car spends the least amount of aggregate time off the race track will be named the weekly winner of the McDonald's Drive-Thru Pit Championship fueled by POWERADE, provided the team's driver takes the green flag at the beginning of the event. A timing line at the entrance and exit of pit road triggers the car's transponder and records the total time spent off the race track.

The McDonald's Drive-Thru Pit Championship fueled by POWERADE is the largest monetary contingency program in NASCAR history.

  • 2003 Winners of The McDonald’s Drive-Thru
    Pit Championship fueled by POWERade:

    Daytona (2/16) Michael Waltrip Team
    Rockingham (2/23) Dave Blaney Team
    Las Vegas (3/2) Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team
    Atlanta (3/9) Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team
    Darlington (3/16) Jeff Green Team (RCR)
    Bristol (3/23) Bill Elliott Team
    Texas (3/30) Robby Gordon Team
    Talladega (4/6) Bill Elliott Team
    Martinsville (4/13) Bobby Labonte Team
    California (4/27) Bobby Labonte Team
    Richmond (5/3) Jeff Burton Team
    Charlotte (5/25) Dale Jarrett Team
    Dover (6/1) Michael Waltrip Team
    Pocono (6/8) Todd Bodine Team
    Michigan (6/15) Sterling Marlin Team
    Sonoma (6/22) Robby Gordon Team
    Daytona (7/5) Jeff Burton Team
    Chicago (7/13) Michael Waltrip Team
    New Hampshire (7/20) Bill Elliott Team
    Pocono (7/27) Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team
    Indianapolis (8/3) Kurt Busch Team
    Watkins Glen (8/10) Elliott Sadler Team
    Michigan (8/17) Greg Biffle Team
    Bristol (8/23) Kurt Busch Team
    Darlington (8/31) Bill Elliott Team
    Richmond (9/6) Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team
    N. Hampshire (9/14) Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team
    Dover (9/21) Bill Elliott Team
    Talladega (9/29) Tony Stewart Team
    Kansas (Oct. 5) Bobby Labonte Team
    Charlotte (Oct. 11) Bill Elliott Team
    Martinsville (Oct. 19) Michael Waltrip Team
    Atlanta (Oct. 27) Bill Elliott Team
    Phoenix (Nov. 2) Michael Waltrip Team
    Rockingham (Nov. 9) Bill Elliott Team
    Homestead (Nov. 16) Sterling Marlin Team

  • Next MRN Broadcast


    Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

    © 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

    FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

    ISC Track Sites