Harvick A Hoosier Hero

SPEEDWAY, IND. - Kevin Harvick set a new track record Saturday at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway to earn the pole for Sunday's 10th running of the NASCAR Winston Cup Series Brickyard 400.

The record lap of 184.343 mph bested the field of 52 qualifiers. It was Harvick's first pole of the season.

"It was a great lap for the GM Goodwrench car," said Harvick. "We tok our practice yesterday and made six laps and tried to pay attention to what we did last year. We knew we had a good draw so we knew the car was going to need a little bit different gear, and we needed to be a little bit free yesterday afternoon. That's what we did and so far, so good."

Indiana native Ryan Newman qualified second fastest in the ALLTEL Dodge with a speed of 184.237 mph. Last week's Pocono winner, Newman was on the pole after his lap until Harvick came along.

"I didn't expect to be quite that fast," said Newman, last week's winner at Pocono. "The track was in great shape. I think the weather had a lot to do with the changes. The track got faster with the rain and the clouds coming in. It would have been cool to win the pole here, but we'll just have to win the race now."

Last year's Brickyard 400 winner Bill Elliott will start third with Ward Burton and Michael Waltrip rounding out the Top 5.

Kurt Busch, Joe Nemechek, Bobby Labonte, Jimmie Johnson and Jeremy Mayfield completed the first ten qualifiers.

Nine drivers failed to make the field including Brett Bodine, Ken Schrader, Billy Bigley, Jr., Ted Musgrave, Robert Pressley, Jim Sauter, Christian Fittipaldi, David Reutimann and Hermie Sadler.

There was one incident during Saturday's qualifying round when Larry Foyt hit the turn two wall. He was not injured in the accident and took a provisional to make Sunday's field.

Sunday's tenth running of the Brickyard 400 will take the green flag at 1 p.m. central time and be televised live by NBC Sports.

Next MRN Broadcast

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites