Teams Penalized After Daytona

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - Three NASCAR Winston Cup Series teams - Dale Earnhardt, Inc., Morgan-McClure Motorsports and Petty Enterprises - received monetary fines and forfeited championship driver and owner points for rules infractions that occurred during last week’s Pepsi 400 at Daytona International Speedway, NASCAR officials announced today.

The No. 15 DEI Chevrolet was found to have an unapproved carburetor modification during opening-day inspection. The result was a $25,000 fine for crew chief Richard Labbe, the loss of 25 NASCAR Winston Cup Series championship driver points for Michael Waltrip and the loss of 25 NASCAR Winston Cup Series championship owner points for Teresa Earnhardt. Labbe also received an additional $500 fine for an unapproved roof strip, which was found during the opening-day inspection period as well.

The No. 4 Morgan-McClure Motorsports Pontiac was penalized for having an unapproved fuel cell container modification that was found by NASCAR officials during pre-race inspection. Crew chief Chris Carrier was fined $25,000, Stacy Compton forfeited 25 championship driver points and Larry McClure forfeited 25 championship owner points for the infraction.

The No. 45 Petty Enterprises Dodge was found to have unapproved rear jacking bolts during opening-day inspection. Crew chief Steven Lane was issued a $25,000 fine while Kyle Petty forfeited 25 championship driver points and Pattie Petty forfeited 25 championship owner points.

All parties were in violation of Section 12-4-A (actions detrimental to stock car racing) and Section 12-4-Q (Any determination by NASCAR Officials that parts and/or equipment in the Event do not conform to NASCAR rules) of the NASCAR Winston Cup Series Rule Book.

Next MRN Broadcast

On Air Now
Mar. 30, 2017 12:00 PM ET

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites