New Crew Chief At No. 93

With an eye on next season, the Bill Davis Racing team has made some changes to the No. 93 crew.

Philippe Lopez joins the team as crew chief for driver Dave Blaney this weekend, and Jimmy Penland takes over as car chief, replacing Tom Hubert, who was serving in the same capacity on an interim basis. Doug Randolph, crew chief for Blaney since July of 2000, has left BDR.

Lopez will also be the crew chief of the No. 93 team next season with driver Hut Stricklin.

“We’re excited about Philippe becoming a part of the Bill Davis Racing organization as crew chief for the No. 93 team, and the opportunity for him to get a start on next season in these last four races of the 2001 schedule is a big bonus for us,” said Mike Brown, BDR general manager “It gives him a chance to get to know our operation and get a head-start on how he’ll need to plan his offseason to be ready for the new driver and new sponsor at the start of 2002.

“Neither Bill Davis nor myself expect anything but the same sort of high level of effort on-track from Dave and the No. 93 team as they close out this season, and I don’t think the change with Philippe will affect that in any way. He’ll get a chance to work with the existing crew as well as to interact for these last four races with Tommy (Baldwin) and the No. 22 team, something that is so important these days with any multi-car team.”

Lopez, 38, has extensive experience as crew chief with Darrell Waltrip, Steve Park and Ward Burton, Blaney’s teammate. A native of Verdun, France, Lopez comes to BDR after serving as race director for Junie Donleavy’s team and Stricklin.

Stricklin will drive a third BDR car at Atlanta Motor Speedway on Nov. 18.

Next MRN Broadcast

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2018 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites