Schrader Draws Shootout Pole

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla., - Ken Schrader, driver of the No. 36 M&M's Pontiac, got lucky with Budweiser's Vegas-style slot machines on Thursday when he was awarded the pole for this Sunday's Budweiser Shootout at Daytona.

Schrader didn't get overly excited about winning the pole because he knows drawing the No. 1 position doesn't mean a whole lot when the 18-driver field receives the green flag and goes racing.

"Do you know where (the pole) puts you potentially going into Turn 3?" Schrader said, eluding to all the passing that is expected in the 70-lap non-points event that features last year's pole winners, past Budwesier Shootout champions and a wild-card entry from last year's fastest second-round qualifiers.

Schrader, who won the 1989 and 1990 Budweiser Shootouts, is excited about being able to participate in the race and hopes to gain some useful information that his team can use in next week's Gatorade 125's.

"I'm excited about being in the race," Schrader said. "I'm looking forward to the 70 laps versus the 25 laps. It's a good test session for the Daytona 500."

Dale Earnhardt, the winningest driver in Daytona International Speedway's history with 34 victories, took the outside pole for the Budweiser Shootout.

"It's great to be back in this race," said Earnhardt, a six-time Budweiser Shootout champion. "It's an awesome race."

Bud Shootout Lineup

1. Ken Schrader, Pontiac
2. Dale Earnhardt, Chevy
3. Dale Jarrett, Ford
4. Mark Martin, Ford
5. Steve Park, Chevy
6. Jeff Gordon, Chevy
7. Tony Stewart, Pontiac
8. Bobby Labonte, Pontiac
9. Joe Nemechek, Chevy
10. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chevy
11. Ricky Rudd, Ford
12. Terry Labonte, Chevy
13. Bill Elliott, Dodge
14. Jeremy Mayfield, Ford
15. Rusty Wallace, Ford
16. Jeff Burton, Ford
17. Ted Musgrave, Ford
18. Mike Skinner, Chevy

Next MRN Broadcast

Upcoming Cup Broadcasts

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites