MRN to Air Hall of Fame Induction Live

Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame induction will air live at 7 p.m. (ET) on Monday, May 23.

The Motor Racing Network – for more than 40 years, “The Voice of NASCAR” – will provide live coverage of the 2011 induction ceremony for the NASCAR Hall of Fame later this month as the cornerstone of its May schedule.

The Hall of Fame induction will air live at 7 p.m. (ET) on Monday, May 23, capping a busy four-day stretch of broadcasts by the network that will include the Camping World Truck Series race May 20 and the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race on May 21 - both originating from Charlotte Motor Speedway.

MRN Radio’s broadcast month will begin this weekend with a doubleheader from Darlington Raceway: Friday’s Royal Purple 200 Presented by O’Reilly Auto Parts Nationwide Series race and Saturday’s Showtime Southern 500 for the Sprint Cup Series.

The weekend of May 13-15 will feature all three of NASCAR’s top series competing at Dover International Speedway. The fourth round of the 2011 Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series also will air Saturday, May 14, with live coverage of the Bosch Engineering 250 at Virginia International Raceway.

From there it’s on to Charlotte, where the Hall of Fame induction will bring All-Star Weekend festivities to a close. This year’s class of inductees is comprised of Bobby Allison, Ned Jarrett, Bud Moore, David Pearson and Lee Petty. Veteran MRN broadcasters Barney Hall and Joe Moore will anchor the network’s exclusive coverage, with Hall also presenting Moore for induction into the stock car shrine.

“Fans rely on MRN Radio as a clear voice and clear choice for race coverage and NASCAR news,” said President and Executive Producer David Hyatt. “Last year and again in 2011, our Hall of Fame special is a natural extension of that and we’re honored to be a part of NASCAR history once more.”

The NASCAR Hall of Fame - located in uptown Charlotte, N.C. - opened its doors to the public on May 11, 2010. MRN Radio broadcast the inaugural induction ceremony 12 days later in which Dale Earnhardt, Bill France Jr., Bill France Sr., Richard Petty and Junior Johnson were formally enshrined.

This year’s class includes Richard Petty’s father Lee, the sport’s first three-time champion and winner of the very first Daytona 500 in 1959. Allison is the 1983 Cup Series champion and owner of 84 career wins, third on the all-time list – just behind Pearson, who retired with 105 victories and three championships.

Moore, a decorated a World War II infantryman, became a successful team owner almost immediately upon entering the sport, winning back-to-back Cup titles with driver Joe Weatherly in 1962 and 1963.

Jarrett, a two-time Cup Series champion in 1961 and 1965, retired with 50 career victories. He’s a former MRN broadcaster and is still associated with the network through his syndicated weekly show “Ned Jarrett’s World of Racing.”

The month of May also will feature MRN Radio’s live coverage of the Nationwide Series race from Iowa Speedway on May 22 and conclude with the Memorial Day Classic Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series race from Lime Rock Park, Conn., on Monday, May 30.

Related Topics:

NASCAR Hall of Fame

Recent Multimedia

  • © 2014 MRN. All Rights Reserved

    FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

    ISC Track Sites