MRN Flashback: 2003 Power Stroke Diesel 200

Ind. Raceway Park

In 2003, Carl Edwards kicked off the second half of the Truck Series schedule with back-to-back victories, the first of which came at Raceway Park in Indianapolis. (Photo: Getty Images)


In 2003, Carl Edwards kicked off the second half of the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series schedule with back-to-back victories.

The first of those wins came in the Power Stroke Diesel 200 on Aug. 1 at Raceway Park in Indianapolis.  Edwards started fifth and took control late in the first half of the race, leading the final 119 laps around the .686-mile oval in his No. 99 Roush Racing Ford.

Edwards’ margin of victory was a half-second over runner-up Travis Kvapil.  Bobby Hamilton, Brendan Gaughan and Jon Wood completed the top five.  Pole sitter Terry Cook led the first 20 laps and placed ninth.  Randy Briggs was the highest-finishing rookie, in 17th.

Edwards won again the following week in Nashville and ended his rookie season with a total of three victories.  He finished eighth in the series standings and was named 2003 Rookie of the Year.

Kvapil won the championship that season by a scant nine points over Dennis Setzer with Gaughan, Wood and Ted Musgrave rounding out the top five.

Today, the Truck Series – now in its 20th season – has sponsorship from Camping World and no longer competes at Raceway Park.  The last race there was in July 2011, with Timothy Peters getting the victory.

Visit on Thursday at 12:30 p.m. (ET) to hear the complete broadcast of the 2003 Power Stroke Diesel 200 from Raceway Park at Indianapolis, anchored by Dave Moody and Dan Hubbard.  Motor Racing Network – "The Voice of NASCAR" – features a classic race each week on "Throwback Thursday" only at


You may unsubscribe at any time.
Motor Racing Network
555 MRN Drive
Concord, NC 28027
  • © 2016 MRN. All Rights Reserved

    FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

    ISC Track Sites