Gaughan to Run Trucks Full-Time


Brendan Gaughan has set his sights on the 2013 Camping World Truck Series championship at Richard Childress Racing. (Photo: Getty Images)


WELCOME, N.C. - Brendan Gaughan will be reunited with crew chief Shane Wilson to run a full season and compete for the 2013 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship in Richard Childress Racing's No. 62 South Point Hotel & Casino Chevrolet.

Driving for RCR in 2012, the Las Vegas native competed in eight Truck Series races and 10 Nationwide Series events, with a best finish of second (to James Buescher) in the July Truck Series race at Chicagoland Speedway.  Gaughan previously had six full seasons in the Truck Series, debuting in 1997.  In 195 races, he has eight wins and three poles.  In addition to a full slate in the 2013 Camping World Truck Series, Gaughan will run two Nationwide Series events next year: on March 9 in Las Vegas and June 22 at Road America.

The No. 62 Truck Series team will begin the 2013 campaign with access to the owner points earned by RCR's No. 22 entry in 2012.

"I would have been thankful to compete full-time for Richard Childress Racing in any series but returning to the trucks will give me another chance to go out and win the championship," Gaughan said.  "All of my Truck Series wins have come with Shane (Wilson) on the pit box.  Now that we're back together, we're going to do all we can to get that championship."

Gaughan and Wilson first teamed up in 2000, running four Truck Series races and three more in 2001.  They ran a full season in 2002, winning both races at Texas Motor Speedway and finishing 11th in points.  2003 was a breakout year for the duo, which won six races and three poles en route to a third-place finish in the final standings.  Together, Gaughan and Wilson then made the move to the Sprint Cup Series in 2004.

RCR has a championship history in the Camping World Truck Series which dates back to 1995.  Mike Skinner earned eight victories en route to the inaugural title in the No. 3 Goodwrench Chevrolet and won eight more races the next season.  Jay Sauter added four more victories before the program was shelved at the end of 1999 in favor of a two-team Nationwide Series program.

RCR began its second-generation Truck Series program in 2010 with full-time driver Austin Dillon.  Since then, RCR teams have seven victories, one championship (Dillon in 2011) and three straight Rookie of the Year awards (Austin Dillon, Joey Coulter Jr. and Ty Dillon).  In addition to Gaughan, the 2013 RCR lineup in the Truck Series will feature Ty Dillon and Tim George Jr.

"Brendan (Gaughan) and Shane (Wilson) know what it takes to win so we're hoping the communication they developed a few years ago will be that little extra needed to get back in the Winner's Circle next season," said team owner Richard Childress.  "Brendan has a lot of history running the '62,' so we decided to change the number.  It will be owner points from the strong season the No. 22 team had in 2012 that will get this new program off on the right foot."

Race Center

DC Solar 350

@ Las Vegas Motor Speedway
Saturday, October 01, 2016
Radio Start:
MRN, 8 p.m. (ET)
TV Start:


You may unsubscribe at any time.
Motor Racing Network
555 MRN Drive
Concord, NC 28027
  • © 2016 MRN. All Rights Reserved

    FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

    ISC Track Sites