Power Long Beach Pole Winner

Will Power

The driver of the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car recorded a quick lap of 1 minute, 9.0649 seconds. (Photo: Getty Images)

Will Power will take his third consecutive PEAK Performance Pole Award of the young IZOD IndyCar Series season and third in a row on the Long Beach street circuit into the 37th edition of the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach on April 17.

The driver of the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car recorded a quick lap of 1 minute, 9.0649 seconds with 2:30 left in the Firestone Fast Six to bump Ryan Hunter-Reay, the 2010 race winner, who set the fast time of 1:09.1409 a lap earlier in the No. 28 Team DHL/Sun Drop Citrus Soda car.

"That was definitely a tough one," said Power, who's finished second and third the past two years in the 85-lap race. "I know how fast Hunter Reay is around here from the race last year. He's bloody hard to beat. It's going to be a tough race, but qualifying the way we did I think we put ourselves in the best possible position."

Seven different teams are represented in the first five rows, which will keep the pressure on Power from the green flag.

Hunter-Reay's Andretti Autosport teammate Mike Conway, driving the No. 27 Window World Cares car, will share Row 2 with Oriol Servia in the No. 2 Telemundo Newman/Haas Racing car. It was the second Firestone Fast Six appearance this season for Conway, who started 16th at Long Beach last April, and Servia.

Sunday's Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach will be telecast live in High Definition at 3:30 p.m. (ET) by VERSUS.

Related Topics:

IZOD Indy Car Series, Will Power

Race Center

Auto Club 500

@ Auto Club Speedway
Saturday, October 19, 2013
TV Start:

Recent Photos

  • © 2014 MRN. All Rights Reserved

    FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

    ISC Track Sites