Power Gives Penske Glen Win

Will Power claimed Team Penske's first IZOD IndyCar Series victory at Watkins Glen International, winning the sixth Camping World Grand Prix at The Glen.

Series points leader Power, driving the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske entry, passed his teammate Ryan Briscoe with six laps to go and held off Dario Franchitti and Briscoe for his third IZOD IndyCar Series victory of 2010.

Power also became the first driver to win this event from pole.

"I'm so happy to win it," Power said. "I wanted it really bad; I really wanted to win. I can't stand when you're the quickest in qualifying and then you have a bad race. Honestly, it was the first race that I pushed on every single lap. Never once that I didn't push."

Briscoe passed Franchitti on the final lap to help Team Penske record its first 1-2 finish since Edmonton in 2009.

"Will was strong," Briscoe said. "We had a lot more downforce in the car. I was just a parachute going down the back straighaway. It's a great way to bring home a Penske one-two."

Brazilians Raphael Matos of de Ferran Dragon Racing and Mario Moraes of KV Racing Technology completed the top five.

"It's a great result for the whole team, and all the thanks go to them," Matos said. "This result is good for momentum for us. I'm sure we'll learn a lot from this weekend that will help us going to Toronto and Edmonton."

In all, there were seven teams represented among the top 10 finishers in the race.

Takuma Sato was the top-finishing rookie in 15th.

Adam Carroll finished 16th in his IndyCar Series debut.

The 2010 IZOD IndyCar Series season continues July 18 with the Honda Indy Toronto at Streets of Toronto.

Race Center

Auto Club 500

@ Auto Club Speedway
Saturday, October 19, 2013
TV Start:

Recent Photos

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites