Kanaan Fastest In Shortened Practice

Tony Kanaan topped the speed chart as rain cut short preparations for the 2010 Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Kanaan recorded a lap of 39.6870 seconds (226.775 mph) in the No. 11 Team 7-Eleven car for Andretti Autosport.

"The car felt good, and although it was in the draft; you have to have a good car to get those kinds of speeds," Kanaan said. "We worked on qualifying today along with a lot of people. It's going to be very interesting on Saturday if it rains tomorrow."

Paul Tracy, driving the No. 15 GEICO-KV Racing Technology car, bolted to second quick (226.322 mph).

"It feels good to be back in the paddock and part of something." Tracy said. "It's frustrating to sit out."

Hideki Mutoh was third (226.230), his second consecutive appearance in the top five in the No. 06 Formula Dream/Panasonic car for Newman/Haas Racing.

Marco Andretti (226.108) and 2005 race winner Dan Wheldon (226.106) also were in the top five, fourth and fifth, respectively. Helio Castroneves (226.080), the 2009 pole sitter, was followed by Team Penske teammate Will Power (226.836), Alex Tagliani (225.609), Graham Rahal (225.559) and Davey Hamilton (225.431).

2002 Indianapolis 500 polesitter Bruno Junqueira made his first appearance of the week at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Junqueira turned 14 laps on the 2.5-mile oval to shake down the No. 29 William Rast/Bryan Herta Autosport car for rookie Sebastian Saavedra at the request of team co-owner Bryan Herta.

Twenty-seven cars were within .5796 of a second of the top. Eight different teams were represented in the top 10.

Race Center

Auto Club 500

@ Auto Club Speedway
Saturday, October 19, 2013
TV Start:

Recent Photos

© 2018 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites