Franchitti Third Quarter Winner

Winning the Indy 500, and the IndyCar title are two very difficult tasks yet Dario Franchitti went beyond those feats as he won the voting for the 3rd Quarter, Driver of the Year - 2007. It was his second-straight honor.

Although the IndyCar title went down to the last lap of the last race, Franchitti, a native of Scotland who now makes Tennessee his home, never faltered. That was reflected in the media balloting.

In the third quarter he won two races, including the season finale at Chicagoland Speedway, four poles, and had only one finish below eighth.

Franchitti, who drives the Canadian Club Dallara/Honda for Andretti Green Racing, said "it is quite an honor to receive the Driver of the Year award for the second-consecutive quarter. I am especially honored when you consider all of the very talented drivers throughout every series."

Tony Stewart, a previous Driver of the Year winner, who drives for Joe Gibbs Racing in the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup series was second and last year's Driver of the Year and NEXTEL Cup Champion, Jimmie Johnson at Hendrick Motorsports was third.

In the voting Franchitti garnered seven first-place ballots and totaled 100 points.

Stewart, who drives the Home Depot Chevrolet, had three NASCAR NEXTEL Cup wins which netted two first-place votes and a total of 65 points.

Johnson, driving the Lowe's Chevrolet, had two wins in the Cup series, resulting in three first-place votes, and finished third with 51 points. Fourth place went to IndyCar's Scott Dixon of New Zealand.

Drag Racing's Tony Schumacher and NASCAR's Kurt Busch were other drivers to a first-place vote.

A total of 16 drivers scored points in the second quarter voting.

In its 41st year, the Driver of the Year title is unique. A panel of 17 leading journalists from across the U.S. determine the winner. In quarterly voting, points are awarded on a declining 9,6,4,3,2,1 basis.

Franchitti will receive a trophy and a Tissot wristwatch to be presented at a later date.

Race Center

Auto Club 500

@ Auto Club Speedway
Saturday, October 19, 2013
TV Start:

Recent Photos

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites