Franchitti Second Quarter Winner

On the track and in the voting Dario Franchitti easily outdistanced his rivals to win the 2nd Quarter, Driver of the Year - 2007.

A native of Scotland, who now makes Tennessee his home, led the IndyCar standings as of the date of the ballot. In the second quarter he won two events, the Indy 500 and the Iowa Speedway 200. He was a consistent contender including two second place finishes and none worse than fourth place.

Upon learning of the award, and the variety of competitors, Franchitti, who drives the Canadian Club Dallara/Honda, said "I'm very honored to have received Driver of the Year award this quarter. I am particularly honored when you see the competition."

NASCAR's Jeff Gordon, a four-time Driver of the Year winner, who took the first quarter ballot, finished second and Carl Edwards was third. In the voting Franchitti took 11 first-place ballots and none lower than third place, totaling 131 points.

Gordon, who drives the DuPont Chevrolet, had two NEXTEL Cup wins and the series' points lead resulting in five first-place votes and a total of 105 points. Edwards, driving the Office Depot Ford for Roush Racing, had victories in the Cup series and Busch series, finished third with 40 points. Fourth place went to World of Outlaws' Donnie Schatz. Martin Truex, Jr., in eighth was the only other driver to score a first-place vote.

A total of 20 drivers scored points in the second quarter voting. In its' 41st year, the Driver of the Year title is unique. A panel of 17 leading journalists from across the U.S. determine the winner. In quarterly voting, points are awarded on a declining 9, 6, 4,3,2,1 basis. Franchitti will receive a trophy and a Tissot wristwatch to be presented at a later date

Race Center

Auto Club 500

@ Auto Club Speedway
Saturday, October 19, 2013
TV Start:

Recent Photos

  • © 2016 MRN. All Rights Reserved

    FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

    ISC Track Sites