Castroneves Takes Inaugural Pole

Helio Castroneves won the pole award for Sunday's The Honda 200, the IndyCar Series' debut at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, and will be joined by Danica Patrick on the front row.

The pole is Castroneves' 23rd career pole start and third road-course pole of the season. He enters the race as a bit of a favorite having won there twice in CART.

Patrick picked up her best starting spot since joining Andretti Green racing for the 2007 season and will be followed closely behind by all three of her AGR teammates.

Tony Kanaan, who led the first practice on the 2.258-mile road course and was second in the next two sessions, will start third, joined by Marco Andretti on the second row.

Points leader Dario Franchitti will cross the starting line, fifth, next to Scott Dixon.

Sam Hornish Jr., Darren Manning and Buddy Rice will follow across in that order.

Despite running off track during practice Saturday, the new driver for the No. 17, Ryan Hunter-Reay managed to secure the top-10 starting spot in qualifying.

One incident occured during qualiyfing involving Vitor Meira, who hit the wall.

Sunday's inaugural The Honda 200 begins with live coverage on ABC at 1:30 p.m. (ET).

Race Center

Auto Club 500

@ Auto Club Speedway
Saturday, October 19, 2013
TV Start:

Recent Photos

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites