Chicagoland To Host IRL Finale

The IndyCar Series will again crown its champion at Chicagoland Speedway when it returns to the 1.5-mile oval in 2007.

The IndyCar Series’ 300-mile season-finale will be held Sept. 9, while the 100-mile Indy Pro Series season-finale will be held on Sept. 8.

“We are coming off one of the best racing seasons in our six-year history, and we’re already looking forward to topping it in 2007,” said Matthew Alexander, vice president and general manager of Chicagoland Speedway. “Each year, we try to improve our state-of-the-art facility so that we can continue to exceed our fans’ expectations, offering them the opportunity to have one of the most enjoyable weekend experiences in all of motorsports. Our 2007 schedule will once again provide fans the opportunity to witness the IndyCar Series crown its champion at our track.”

Chicagoland Speedway, located in Joliet, Ill., has hosted the IndyCar Series since 2001 and is the site of three of the 10 closest finishes in IndyCar Series history. It will host the IndyCar Series and Indy Pro Series’ season-finales for the second consecutive year. This year, Chicagoland Speedway saw four IndyCar Series drivers and four Indy Pro Series drivers enter the final race with a chance to win the championship.

“We look forward to Chicagoland Speedway closing out the IndyCar Series schedule once again in 2007,” said Brian Barnhart, president and COO of the Indy Racing League. “You couldn’t ask for anything more than the race we had earlier this month at Chicagoland with the high-speed and close racing culminating in a championship points battle tie, two points separating first from third place and one of the fastest races in IndyCar Series history.”

Chicagoland Speedway is the 11th confirmed date for the 2007 IndyCar Series schedule. The IndyCar Series has previously announced the following events:

  • April 1 – Streets of St. Petersburg, Fla.

  • April 29 – Kansas Speedway

  • May 27 – Indianapolis Motor Speedway

  • June 3 – The Milwaukee Mile

  • June 9 – Texas Motor Speedway

  • June 24 – Iowa Speedway

  • June 30 – Richmond International Raceway

  • July 8 – Watkins Glen International

  • July 14 – Nashville Superspeedway

  • Aug. 11 – Kentucky Speedway

    The remainder of the 2007 IndyCar Series schedule will be announced at a later date.
  • Race Center

    Auto Club 500

    @ Auto Club Speedway
    Saturday, October 19, 2013
    TV Start:

    Recent Photos

    © 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

    FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

    ISC Track Sites