Milwaukee Change Confirmed

INDIANAPOLIS – Officials from the IndyCar Series and Milwaukee Mile announced today that the ABC Supply / A.J. Foyt Indy 225 IndyCar Series event at the historic 1-mile oval will move to June 3, 2007, one week after the 91st Indianapolis 500-Mile Race, resurrecting a tradition that began in 1946.

“The Milwaukee Mile and Indy-style racing have had a long and storied history,” IRL President and COO Brian Barnhart said. “For the last three years, we’ve been able to showcase our sport to the race fans in Wisconsin, and now we can complete the circle by reuniting the cars and drivers of the Indianapolis 500-Mile Race with the traditional post-Indianapolis 500 date at Milwaukee.”

In addition to the 225-mile IndyCar Series event, the Indy Pro Series will run its fourth race at the track, the Milwaukee 100, a 100-lap event showcasing the future stars of the IndyCar Series on the same race weekend.

“We are excited for our loyal fans to be able to bring the stars of the Indianapolis 500 back to The Milwaukee Mile the first weekend in June,” stated Andy Randall, Milwaukee Mile President and CEO. “We are proud to continue this strong racing tradition. This multi-year agreement allows us to begin building toward an exciting June 2-3, 2007 event weekend starting today.”

Originally a privately owned horse-racing track, the symmetrical oval has been in existence since at least 1876 and played host to automobile races since 1903, making it the oldest racetrack in continuous use.

From 1947-1995, The Milwaukee Mile traditionally hosted the cars and drivers of the Indianapolis 500 in the weeks following the 500-Mile race. Eight drivers have been able to pull the Indianapolis-Milwaukee double, including four-time Indianapolis 500 winner A.J. Foyt, for whom the current IndyCar Series race is named.

In addition to Foyt, many Indianapolis 500 champions have competed at The Mile, including every Indianapolis 500 winner since 1946, with the exception of 1966 “500” winner Graham Hill.

“On behalf of our fans, we thank Tony George, Brian Barnhart and the IndyCar teams and drivers for this opportunity - not only with respect to moving back to the traditional date, but for their willingness to enter into a three-year agreement with The Mile,” said Craig Stoehr, Milwaukee Mile Chairman.

The Milwaukee Mile event is the fourth announced date for the 2007 IndyCar Series season. Earlier this year, the IndyCar Series announced it would return to the streets of St. Petersburg, Fla., for the third Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg on April 1 and race from the first time at Iowa Speedway on June 24. The 91st Indianapolis 500-Mile Race will be held on May 27 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

While not confirmed, IRL officials hinted that Texas Motor Speedway would have their event the weekend following the event at The Milwaukee Mile during a teleconference with the media.

The remainder of the 2007 IndyCar Series schedule will be announced at a later date.

Race Center

Auto Club 500

@ Auto Club Speedway
Saturday, October 19, 2013
TV Start:

Recent Photos

  • © 2016 MRN. All Rights Reserved

    FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

    ISC Track Sites