Iinside Indy:/I Guerrero Gets Ride

INDIANAPOLIS - Roberto Guerrero is back in a car at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The veteran, who has finished as runner-up twice in the Indianapolis 500, has been picked up by Dick Simon and will drive the No. 17 car in addition to helping Stephan Gregoire set up his No. 7.

Guerrero’s most recent appearance at Indy was in 1999, when he finished 25th.

On Friday, he got behind the wheel of Simon’s No. 7 car in practice and immediately had the car up to 221.646 mph.

"It's a great opportunity," Guerrero said. "I think it will be good for me and the whole team. I get a chance to qualify and help the team."

On Pole Day, Guerrero qualified the No. 7 car at 220.054 mph, and it's not clear if Simon will put Gregoire in the car or keep Guerrero on for the race.

Gregoire had struggled in practice all week.

Lazier Lands Sponsor: Jaques Lazier’s car has a new look to it, thanks to Classmates.com.

The Web site has signed on as the primary sponsor of the TeamXtreme/Jonathan Byrd No. 77 car for the Indy 500. Classmates.com also will be the associate sponsor of Airton Dare’s No. 88 machine.

"There are great synergies between Classmates.com and TeamXtreme," said Michael Schutzler, president and chief executive officer of Classmates.com. "We are both highly competitive organizations with a desire to win.

"Sponsoring TeamXtreme provides a creative offline marketing campaign and valuable exposure for Classmates.com."

Lazier has done his part to give Classmates.com that exposure. He’s been near the top of the speed charts in practice.

"During practice, Jaques has consistently run in the top cars, creating the opportunity for extensive Classmates.com coverage," said John Lopes, general manager of TeamXtreme.

First Qualifier: Arie Luyendyk was the first driver to qualify for the Indy 500 on Saturday.

Luyendyk qualified with a four-lap average of 224.257 mph in Treadway-Hubbard Racing’s No. 5 G Force-Aurora.

In Saturday morning practice, Tony Stewart was fastest at 226.996 mph in Target Chip Ganassi Racing’s No. 33. Greg Ray was second at 226.108 mph. Gil de Ferran was third with a quick lap of 225.620.

Jeff Ward at 225.061 mph, Sam Hornish Jr. at 224.873 mph, Mark Dismore at 224.592 mph, Robby Gordon at 224.524 mph, Jimmy Vasser at 224.394 mph, Helio Castroneves at 224.190 mph and Buddy Lazier at 223.920 rounded out the Top 10.

Race Center

Auto Club 500

@ Auto Club Speedway
Saturday, October 19, 2013
TV Start:

Recent Photos

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites