Big Payday For Helio

Helio Castroneves had reason enough to celebrate this week after winning Sunday Indianapolis 500.

Now he has 1,270,475 more reasons to be happy.

Castroneves took home a $1,270,475 check from the Indy 500 victory banquet. The total purse for the race was a record $9,615,325. The Indianapolis Motor Speedway and the Indy Racing Northern Light Series supplies the bulk of the prize money, with other designated awards adding to the overall payout.

Castroneves, driving for CART owner Roger Penske, also was named the Rookie of the Year.

It wasn’t just first place that picked up a huge payoff. Gil de Ferran finished just 1.7373 second behind Castroneves and collected $482,775 for his second-place finish for Penske.

CART driver Michael Andretti earned $346,225 for his third-place finish for team owner Barry Green. Drivers Jimmy Vasser, Bruno Junqueira and Tony Stewart posted fourth, fifth and sixth-place finishes, respectively, for Target Chip Ganassi Racing. Vasser earned $233,325, Junqueira earned $255,825, and Stewart earned $218,850.

Eliseo Salazar, the highest finishing IRNLS regular in seventh place, took home $355,300 for A.J. Foyt Racing. Rounding out the top 10 were Airton Daré, who earned $319,325 for eighth; Billy Boat, $336,325 for ninth; and Felipe Giaffone, $211,575 for 10th.

MBNA pole winner Scott Sharp earned $427,325 for his 33rd-place finish. Sharp exited the race on a first-lap accident. His total winnings included $100,000 for winning the MBNA Pole Award.

Race Center

Auto Club 500

@ Auto Club Speedway
Saturday, October 19, 2013
TV Start:

Recent Photos

  • © 2016 MRN. All Rights Reserved

    FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

    ISC Track Sites